Mario Vargas Llosa's picture

Mario Vargas Llosa

Peru (b.1936)

Jorge Mario Pedro Vargas Llosa, 1st Marquis of Vargas Llosa is a Peruvian-Spanish writer, politician, journalist, essayist, and Nobel Prize laureate. Vargas Llosa is one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, and one of the leading authors of his generation. Some critics consider him to have had a larger international impact and worldwide audience than any other writer of the Latin American Boom. He was awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature.

Genres: Mystery
Mario Vargas Llosa recommends
Turing's Delirium (2006)
Edmundo Paz Soldán
"One of the most important Latin American authors of the new generation."
See How Much I Love You (2009)
Luis Leante
"Wholly entertaining... a novel that hooks you from the first line... the reader lives the tragedy of a people who have been systematically marginalized and sacrificed by history."
Not Art (2010)
Péter Esterházy
"One of the most interesting and original writers of our time."
Purgatory (2011)
Tomás Eloy Martínez
"A master novel. I got choked up, I suffered, I enjoyed."
The Time in Between (2011)
María Dueñas
"A wonderful novel, with intrigue, love, and mystery."
The Sound of Things Falling (2012)
Juan Gabriel Vásquez
"One of the most original new voices in Latin American Literature."
American Dreams (2014)
Eduardo González Viaña
"A magnificent testimony of the Latin American presence in the United States."
Fever Dream (2017)
Samanta Schweblin
"Samanta Schweblin is one of the most promising voices in modern literature."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors