Jorge Luis Borges's picture

Jorge Luis Borges

Argentina (1899 - 1986)

aka H Bustos Domecq

Jorge Luis Borges was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina. As a poet, essayist, and short-story writer, he became one of the first Latin American writers to achieve international fame.

He is one of the seminal figures in twentieth-century literature. His influence on the art of narrative and on the very way people think about writing has been incalculable. All postwar fiction, from Gabriel García Márquez to Carlos Fuentes, John Updike to John Barth, Italo Calvino to Umberto Eco, bears Borges's imprint - in spite of the fact that Borges did not write a single novel.
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Anthologies containing stories by Jorge Luis Borges
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Short stories
Avelino Arredondo
The Book of Sand [short story]
The Bribe
The Circular Ruins
The Congress [short story]
The Disk
The Mirror and the Mask
The Night of the Gifts
Odin (with Delia Ingenieros)
The Other
The Sect of the Thirty
There Are More Things
The Zahir
The Chamber of Statues (1933)
The Dread Redeemer Lazarus Morell (1933)
The Insulting Master of Etiquette Kotsuke no Suke (1933)
The Mirror of Ink (1933)
Monk Eastman, Purveyor of Iniquities (1933)
Streetcorner Man (1933)
Tom Castro, the Implausible Imposter (1933)
The Widow Ching, Lady Pirate (1933)
The Wizard Postponed (1933)
The Masked Dyer, Hakim of Merv (1934)
Tale of the Two Dreamers (1934)
A Theologian in Death (1934)
The Disinterested Killer Bill Harrigan (1935)
The Library of Babel (1941)
Tlon, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius (1941)
The Aleph [short story] (1945)
A Double for Mohammed (1946)
The Generous Enemy (1946)
Of Exactitude in Science (1946)
Funes the Memorious (1962)
The Immortal (1962)
The Lottery in Babylon (1962)
The Intruder (1966)
Death and the Compass (1968)
The Meeting (1969)
Rosendo's Tale (1969)
Doctor Brodie's Report [short story] (1970)
The Duel (1970)
The Elder Lady (1970)
The End of the Duel (1970)
The Gospel According to Mark (1970)
Guayaquil (1970)
Juan Murana (1970)
The Unworthy Friend (1970)
Utopia of a Tired Man (1975)Nebula Awards (nominee)
August 25, 1983 (1982)
The Rose of Paracelsus (1998)

Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1976) : Utopia of a Tired Man
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1977)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1978)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (1979)

Books about Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges recommends
The Marquis of Bolibar (1926)
Leo Perutz
"A perfect example of the novel of the fantastic in its purest form."
Black Water (1983)
Alberto Manguel
"The memory of our greatest stories is a form of imagination, and this Anthology of Fantastic Literature is a treausure-house of memory."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors