Juan Gabriel Vasquez's picture

Juan Gabriel Vásquez

Spain (b.1973)

Juan Gabriel Vásquez was born in Bogota in 1973. His books include the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin award winner and national bestseller, The Sound of Things Falling, as well as the award-winning The Informers and The Secret History of Costaguana. Vásquezs books have been published in seventeen languages world-wide, and he is the recipient of the Prix Roger Caillois in France and the Alfaguara Prize in Spain. After sixteen years in France, Belgium, and Spain, he now lives in Bogotá .
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel winner (2014) : The Sound of Things Falling

Juan Gabriel Vásquez recommends
Fever Dream (2017)
Samanta Schweblin
"A wonderful nightmare of a book: tender and frightening, disturbing but compassionate."
After the Winter (2018)
Guadalupe Nettel
"It has been a long time since I have found in the literature of my generation a world as personal and untransferable."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors