book cover of A Memory Called Empire
Added by 6 of our members

A Memory Called Empire

(2019)
(The first book in the Teixcalaan series)
A novel by

 
 
"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it." (Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice)

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident - or that Mahit might be next to die, during a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court.

Now, Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion - all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret - one that might spell the end of her station and her way of life - or rescue it from annihilation.

A fascinating space-opera debut, Arkady Martine's A Memory Called Empire is an interstellar mystery adventure.

"The most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love." (Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky)

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating." - Charlie Jane Anders

"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov." - Elizabeth Bear

"An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive." - Aliette de Bodard

"A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry--clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife." - Delilah S Dawson

"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it." - Ann Leckie

"A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years." - Yoon Ha Lee

"A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound." - Malka Older

"An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down." - Jo Walton

"A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It's like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune." - Dan Wells

"A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next." - Martha Wells


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Seven Blades in Black
(Grave of Empires, book 1)
Sam Sykes

Used availability for Arkady Martine's A Memory Called Empire

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-5290-0157-9 / 978-1-5290-0157-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-250-18643-9 / 978-1-250-18643-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2020 : UK Paperback

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-5290-0159-5 / 978-1-5290-0159-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-250-18644-7 / 978-1-250-18644-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-5290-0158-7 / 978-1-5290-0158-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-5290-1969-9 / 978-1-5290-1969-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-5290-1970-2 / 978-1-5290-1970-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire
Author(s): Arkady Martine
ISBN: 1-250-31896-3 / 978-1-250-31896-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire: Teixcalaan, Book 1
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire: Teixcalaan, Book 1
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire: Teixcalaan, Book 1
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Texicalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Tor UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan Book 1)
Author(s): Arkady Martine
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA