book cover of Down a Dark River
Added by 50 of our members

Down a Dark River

(2021)
(The first book in the Inspector Michael Corravan series)
A novel by

 
 
In the vein of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, Karen Odden’s mystery introduces Inspector Michael Corravan as he investigates a string of vicious murders that has rocked Victorian London’s upper crust.

London, 1878. One April morning, a small boat bearing a young woman’s corpse floats down the murky waters of the Thames. When the victim is identified as Rose Albert, daughter of a prominent judge, the Scotland Yard director gives the case to Michael Corravan, one of the only Senior Inspectors remaining after a corruption scandal the previous autumn left the division in ruins. Reluctantly, Corravan abandons his ongoing case, a search for the missing wife of a shipping magnate, handing it over to his young colleague, Mr. Stiles.
 
An Irish former bare-knuckles boxer and dockworker from London’s seedy East End, Corravan has good street sense and an inspector’s knack for digging up clues. But he’s confounded when, a week later, a second woman is found dead in a rowboat, and then a third. The dead women seem to have no connection whatsoever. Meanwhile, Mr. Stiles makes an alarming discovery: the shipping magnate’s missing wife, Mrs. Beckford, may not have fled her house because she was insane, as her husband claims, and Mr. Beckford may not be the successful man of business that he appears to be.
 
Slowly, it becomes clear that the river murders and the case of Mrs. Beckford may be linked through some terrible act of injustice in the past—for which someone has vowed a brutal vengeance. Now, with the newspapers once again trumpeting the Yard’s failures, Corravan must dredge up the truth—before London devolves into a state of panic and before the killer claims another innocent victim.


Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Gritty, compelling and vividly written . . . Like Anne Perry, Odden demonstrates a commanding grasp of authentic period detail." - Susanna Calkins

"No one does Victorian England like Karen Odden . . . Fans of Anne Perry and Charles Finch will welcome Inspector Michael Corravan." - Mariah Fredericks

"Sparkling prose, vivid description, a haunting and satisfyingly complex story . . . Down a Dark River a must read for fans of any genre of crime fiction." - Edwin Hill

"Odden's latest is intricately plotted and filled with a cast of wonderful characters, including a worthy and relatable hero." - Anna Lee Huber

"This twisty-turn-y mystery introducing a new and charismatic detective will delight readers also looking for well-researched history." - Susan Elia MacNeal

"An original, street-smart detective, an intriguing mystery, and delicious Victorian flavor. All my favorite things!" - Laura Joh Rowland

"A must read for mystery fans!" - Charles Todd


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Karen Odden's Down a Dark River

Hardback Editions

November 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Down a Dark River (An Inspector Corravan Mystery)
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-64385-869-6 / 978-1-64385-869-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Down a Dark River
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-66652-230-9 / 978-1-66652-230-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Down a Dark River (An Inspector Corravan Mystery, 1)
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-66652-250-3 / 978-1-66652-250-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Down a Dark River (An Inspector Corravan Mystery)
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU