book cover of There Will Come a Darkness
Added by 17 of our members

There Will Come a Darkness

(2019)
(The first book in the Age of Darkness series)
A novel by

 
 
Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows meets Kristin Cashore's Graceling, with a dash of Winter is Coming, in this showstopping debut YA fantasy--and recipient of FOUR starred reviews!

A Morris Award Finalistfor best debut young adult novel!
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!
A Tor.com Best YA SFF/Horror Book of the Year!

"One of the most stunning debuts of the year." —Seventeen

The Age of Darkness approaches.
Five lives stand in its way.
Who will stop it . . . or unleash it?

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations—until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. With chaos on the horizon, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them—or all of them—could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

Praise for There Will Come a Darkness

“A can’t miss debut from an exciting new talent.” –Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Slayer

“Even in a world filled with graces and prophets, the real magic of There Will Come a Darkness is in how Pool has crafted her heroes—messy, flawed, and so beguilingly human. I dare you not to fall madly in love with all of them.” —Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess

* "A well-crafted, surprising, and gripping start to a new trilogy." —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A brilliantly woven story with compelling characters, surprising twists and a prophecy driven not by distant fate but by hard, human choices. There Will Come a Darkness was a pleasure to read and left me eager for more!" - Melissa Caruso

"A masterful fantasy debut. Katy Rose Pool is a writer to watch." - Sebastien De Castell

"A sweeping, ambitious fantasy that pulled me into a world of corruption, dark prophecy and, ultimately, hope. The breathlessly paced story and well-rendered ensemble cast gripped me until the very last pages." - Julie C Dao

"Katy Rose Pool combines lovable characters, a gorgeously tangible world and an intricate puzzle-box plot to create a story that will pull you inexorably toward the explosive end." - Sarah Holland

"The real magic of There Will Come a Darkness is in how Pool has crafted her heroes - messy, flawed and so beguilingly human. I dare you not to fall madly in love with all of them." - Laura Sebastian

"Unforgettable . . . feels both utterly original and like the best of classic fantasy." - Tasha Suri

"There Will Come a Darkness is a can't-miss debut from an exciting new talent. I defy you not to lose yourself in this vast, luscious fantasy." - Kiersten White


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Katy Rose Pool's There Will Come a Darkness

Hardback Editions

September 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, 1)
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
ISBN: 1-250-21175-1 / 978-1-250-21175-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, 1)
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
ISBN: 1-250-61985-8 / 978-1-250-61985-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Square Fish
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
ISBN: 0-356-51353-X / 978-0-356-51353-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
ISBN: 0-356-51371-8 / 978-0-356-51371-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, 1)
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
ISBN: 1-250-23291-0 / 978-1-250-23291-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: The Age of Darkness, Book 1
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: The Age of Darkness, Book 1
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: The Age of Darkness, Book 1
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness: Book One of The Age of Darkness
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness Book 1)
Author(s): Katy Rose Pool
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon