book cover of The Marriage Pact
Added by 23 of our members

The Marriage Pact

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
How far is too far when it comes to protecting your marriage? Find out in this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense for anyone who loved The Couple Next Door.

“Ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say ‘I do.’”—Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Switch

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice’s prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples.

And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule.

For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Praise for The Marriage Pact

“This fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions. . . . It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Creepy and engrossing . . . [The Marriage Pact takes] readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions.”Booklist

“Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible.”—Dean Koontz

“Riveting psychological suspense! This book will keep you up all night, while making you second-guess everything you know and everyone you’ve ever loved.”—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A daringly original novel about the best and worst of love." - Carla Buckley

"A brilliant premise for a novel of psychological suspense, tautly plotted and deftly written." - J P Delaney

"This sometimes disturbing, always thought-provoking, stunner of a novel will keep you reading far too late into the night." - Karen Dionne

"Truly chilling . . . It ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say 'I do'." - Joseph Finder

"Beware. This book will keep you up all night, while making you second guess everything you know and everyone you've ever loved." - Lisa Gardner

"Gripping, thought-provoking and irresistible." - Dean Koontz

"Clever and original - as smart as it is scary." - Gin Phillips

"A terrifying thriller that distils modern marriage down to its confusing core." - Nina Sadowsky

"A twisting, suspenseful, keep-you-up-all-night thriller." - Lisa Unger


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Michelle Richmond's The Marriage Pact

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: The bestselling thriller for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-7181-8610-9 / 978-0-7181-8610-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-385-34329-9 / 978-0-385-34329-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: The bestselling thriller for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-7181-8613-3 / 978-0-7181-8613-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-553-38636-0 / 978-0-553-38636-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: The bestselling thriller for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-7181-8612-5 / 978-0-7181-8612-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact (Random House Large Print)
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 0-525-50121-5 / 978-0-525-50121-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 1-101-96614-9 / 978-1-101-96614-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

July 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 1-5047-5859-5 / 978-1-5047-5859-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
ISBN: 1-5047-5860-9 / 978-1-5047-5860-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: The bestselling thriller for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Marriage Pact: A Novel
Author(s): Michelle Richmond
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA