Susanna Kearsley's picture

Susanna Kearsley

Canada (b.1966)

aka Emma Cole

Susanna Kearsley was working as a museum curator when she wrote her first book on a dare from her sister and realized that writing was all that she wanted to do.

She left the museum and worked as a waitress instead while she wrote her second novel, which went on to win the U.K.'s Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize in 1993. Since then, her books have been translated into several languages, selected for The Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film.


Genres: Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance, Historical Mystery, Mystery
   1. The Winter Sea (2008)
     aka Sophia's Secret
   2. The Firebird (2013)
   3. The Vanished Days (2021)
Susanna Kearsley recommends
Tides of Honour (2015)
Genevieve Graham
"Evocative of place and time, a novel blending tragedy and triumph in a poignant and uplifting tale that s sure to leave its mark upon your heart."
The Girl Who Wrote in Silk (2015)
Kelli Estes
"The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a beautiful story that brought me to tears more than once, and was a testament to the endurance of the human spirit and the human heart. A powerful debut that proves the threads that interweave our lives can withstand time and any tide, and bind our hearts forever."
An Artless Demise (2019)
(Lady Darby Mystery, book 7)
Anna Lee Huber
"Anna Lee Huber keeps upping her game--An Artless Demise is the perfect blend of history, mystery, and one of my favorite sleuthing couples!"
A Lullaby for Witches (2022)
Hester Fox
"Weaves a spell of darkness that's mysterious and magical, and binds it with a knot of deathless love."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors