Vivian Stuart

(Violet Vivian Finlay Stuart Mann)
UK flag (1914 - 1986)

aka Barbara Allen, Fiona Finlay, William Stuart Long, Alex Stuart, Robyn Stuart, V A Stuart

Violet Vivian Finlay was born on January 2, 1914. Although Vivian is well-known by her first husband's surname, Stuart, that she used to signmany of her books, she re-married a second time, using the name of Mann. Vivian passed away in August, 1986, at 72.

She was a prolific writer from 1953 to 1986 under diferent pseudonyms: Vivian Stuart, Alex Stuart, Barbara Allen, Fiona Finlay, V.A. Stuart, William Stuart Long and Robyn Stuart. Her novel, *GayCavalier* published in 1955 as Alex Stuart got her into trouble with her Mills & Booneditors when she featured a secondary story line featuring a Catholic male and Protestant female who chose to marry. This so-called "mixed marriage"touched nerves in the United Kingdom.

In 1960, she founded the Romantic Novelists' Association and also was the first elected Chairman (1961-1963).

Genres: Romance, Historical Romance
Alexander Sheridan (as by V A Stuart)
   1. Like Victors and Lords (1964)
     aka Victors and Lords
   2. The Sepoy Mutiny (1974)
     aka Mutiny in Meerut / Mutiny at Dawn
   3. Massacre At Cawnpore (1974)
   4. Cannons of Lucknow (1974)
   5. The Heroic Garrison (1975)
   6. Captain of Cavalry (1975)
   7. Battle for Lucknow (1975)
Phillip Hazard (as by V A Stuart)
   1. The Valiant Sailors (1966)
   2. The Brave Captains (1968)
   3. Hazard's Command (1971)
   4. Hazard of Huntress (1972)
   5. Hazard in Circassia (1973)
   6. Victory At Sebastopol (1974)
     aka Hazard to the Rescue
   7. Guns to the Far East (1975)
     aka Shannon's Brigade
   8. Escape from Hell (1976)
     aka Sailors on Horseback
   Along Came Ann (1953)
     aka Along Came Doctor Ann
   The Captain's Table (1953) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Proud Heart (1953)
   Eyes of the Night (1954)
   Ship's Nurse (1954) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Soldier's Daughter (1954) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The Unlit Heart (1954)
     aka Jungle Doctor
   Gay Cavalier (1955) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Island for Sale (1955) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Lover Betrayed (1955)
   Pilgrim Heart (1955)
     aka Doctor in the Tropics
   Bachelor of Medicine (1956) (as by Alex Stuart)
   A Cruise for Cinderella (1956) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Doctor Lucy (1956) (as by Barbara Allen)
   Huntsman's Folly (1956) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Garrison Hospital (1957) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The Last of the Logans (1957) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Master of Guise (1957) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Moon Over Madrid (1957) (as by Fiona Finlay)
   Queen's Counsel (1957) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Daughters of the Governor (1958) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Master of Surgery (1958) (as by Alex Stuart)
     aka That Wonderful Feeling
   Someone Else's Heart (1958) (as by Barbara Allen)
   Castle in the Mist (1959) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The Peacock Pagoda (1959) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Nurse in Malaya (1960)
   Return to Love (1960) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Star of Oudh (1960) (as by Alex Stuart)
     aka On Her Majesty's Orders
   Doctor Mary Courage (1961) (as by Alex Stuart)
     aka Only a Memory
   The Gay Gordons (1961) (as by Barbara Allen)
   Sister Margarita (1961) (as by Alex Stuart)
     aka Nurse in Spain
   Spencer's Hospital (1961) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The Summer's Flower (1961)
   The Dedicated (1962) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Doctor On Horseback (1962) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Doctor of Rhua (1963) (as by Alex Stuart)
     aka The Piper of Laide
   Maiden Voyage (1964) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Samaritan's Hospital (1965) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The Scottish Soldier (1966) (as by Barbara Allen)
   There But for Fortune (1966) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Random Island (1967) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Strangers When We Meet (1968) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Stranger in Town (1970) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Young Doctor Mason (1970) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Black Sea Frigate (1971)
   Research Fellow (1971) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Summer's Flowers (1972) (as by Alex Stuart)
   A Sunset Touch (1972) (as by Alex Stuart)
   No Single Star (1973) (as by Alex Stuart)
   Life Is the Destiny (1973) (as by Alex Stuart)
   The New Mrs. Aldrich (1976)
   Buccaneer's Lady (1981) (as by Robyn Stuart)
   Wild Rivers Run (1983) (as by Robyn Stuart)
   From the Flames (1983) (as by Robyn Stuart)
   The Patriots (1986)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors