book cover of Follow Me
Added by 2 of our members

Follow Me

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)--now an Apple TV series of the same name--comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes's You.

Everyone wants new followers...until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can't stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey's faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who's obsessively followed her social media presence for years--from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits--and nothing is private.

With "compelling, suspenseful" (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber's electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.

Genre: Mystery


Praise for this book

"In this twisty thriller about every woman's worst online nightmare, Barber expertly explores complex issues of privacy, voyeurism, and consent while keeping the pages turning with heart-pounding, all-too-plausible suspense." - Layne Fargo

"A thriller for the Instagram age, Follow Me doesn’t let up until the final twist. It had me looking over my shoulder, closing my social media apps with a shudder, and above all, flipping pages to find out what happened next." - Amy Gentry

"Follow Me is a gripping, chilling, and relevant deep dive into the dark and scary side of social media. Kathleen Barber masterfully keeps the reader guessing until the mind-blowing conclusion." - Robyn Harding

"Who hasn’t stalked—I mean, looked up—an old flame, friend, or celebrity on social media? Follow Me is a sharp look at the downfall of inventing better online versions of our own realities. Absorbing, utterly addictive, and possibly the most riveting book I’ve read this year." - Jennifer Hillier

"Wow! What a deliciously creepy page-turner. More than just an addictive thriller, Kathleen Barber’s chilling insights about social media and privacy will stay with you long after its last nail-biting pages." - Angie Kim

"Addictive, disturbing, and frighteningly real, Barber ratchets up the tension in this spine-tingling thriller about the dangers of oversharing. Follow Me is one of those rare books that is creepy and suspenseful, while still managing to be a fun, unforgettable read." - Christina McDonald

"Enthralling, terrifying, and all too real, Follow Me is a cautionary tale for the social media obsessed. In this twisty, propulsive thriller, Kathleen Barber is at the top of her game, plumbing the depths of female friendship and obsession, while showing us who we really are, #unfiltered." - Kate Moretti

"A chilling take on obsession, self-obsession, and the closing gap between the two in our hyperconnected digital age." - Jessica Strawser

"Relevant and chilling, Follow Me is a compelling, cautionary tale about the lust for social media attention and the dangers of Internet exposure. A must-read!" - Wendy Walker


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kathleen Barber's Follow Me

Hardback Editions

June 2020 : USA Library Binding

Title: Follow Me (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-4328-7963-4 / 978-1-4328-7963-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-982101-98-9 / 978-1-982101-98-5
Publisher: Simon & Schuster USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-982101-99-7 / 978-1-982101-99-2
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-79710-401-2 / 978-1-79710-401-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Follow Me
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA