Anton Chekhov's picture
Followed by 2 of our members

Anton Chekhov

(Anton Pavlovich Chekhov)
Russia (1860 - 1905)

Anton Chekhov was born on January 29, 1860, in Taganrog, Russia, on the Sea of Azov. Anton Pavlovich Chekhov would eventually become one of Russia's most cherished storytellers. Especially fond of vaudevilles and French farces, he produced some hilarious one-act plays, but it is his full-length tragedies that have secured him a place among the greatest dramatists of all time.

Chekhov began writing short stories during his days as a medical student at the University of Moscow. After graduating in 1884 with a degree in medicine, he began to freelance as a journalist and writer of comic sketches. Early in his career, he mastered the form of the one-act play and produced several masterpieces of this genre including The Bear (1888), The Wedding (1889), The Lady with the Dog (1899), The Darling and other stories (1899) and many more.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Anton Chekhov
Short stories
The Bet
The Crooked Mirror (A Christmas Story)
The Swedish Match
Grief (1885)
Agafya (1886)
Misfortune (1886)
A Boring Story (1889)
The Grasshopper (1892)
Ward 6 (1892)
The Black Monk (1894)
Ariadne (1895)
The House With an Attic (1896)
The House with the Mezzanine (1896)
The Peasants (1897)
Gooseberries (1898)
Ionych (1898)
Lady With Lapdog [short story] (1899)
Enemies (1932)

Books about Anton Chekhov