William Hope Hodgson's picture

William Hope Hodgson

UK flag (1877 - 1918)

William Hope Hodgson was an English author. He produced a large body of work, consisting of essays, short fiction, and novels, spanning several overlapping genres including horror, fantastic fiction and science fiction. Early in his writing career he dedicated effort to poetry, although few of his poems were published during his lifetime. He also attracted some notice as a photographer and achieved some renown as a bodybuilder. He died in World War I at the age of 40.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by William Hope Hodgson
Short stories
By the Lee
Captain Dang
The Crew of the Lancing
The Find
The Finding of the Graiken [short story]
The Habitants of Middle Islet
The Heathen's Revenge
The Horse of the Invisible
The House Among the Laurels
The Island of the Ud
The Mystery of the Derelict
The Plans of the Reefing Bi-Plane
The 'Prentices' Mutiny
The Promise
R.M.S. "Empress of Australia"
The Riven Night [short story]
The Room of Fear [short story]
The Searcher of the End House
The Sharks of the St. Elmo
The Stone Ship
The Terror of the Water-Tank
The Thing Invisible
A Tropical Horror
The Waterloo of a Hard-Case Skipper
From a Tideless Sea (1906)
The Voice in the Night (1907)
The Gateway of the Monster (1910)
The Whistling Room (1910)
The Derelict [short story] (1912)
On the Bridge (1912)
The Island of the Crossbones (1913)
Demons of the Sea [short story] (1923)
The Haunted 'Jarvee' (1948)
The Hog (1948)