Nathaniel Hawthorne's picture

Nathaniel Hawthorne

USA flag (1804 - 1864)
Father of Julian Hawthorne

Nathaniel Hawthorne was born in Salem, Massachusetts, where he wrote the bulk of his masterful tales of American colonial history. His career as a novelist began with The Scarlet Letter (1850) and also includes The house of the Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, and The Marble Faun. Nina Baym is Director of the School of Humanities and Professor of English at the University of Illinois. She has published widely on Hawthorne and other American writers.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Short stories
The Ambitious Guest
The Canterbury Pilgrims
Chippings with a Chisel
David Swan
Drowne's Wooden Image
Edward Fane's Rosebud
Endicott and the Red Cross
A Fantasy-David Swan
The Gentle Boy
The Great Stone Face [short story]
The House of the Seven Gables [short story]
John Inglefield's Thanksgiving
The Lily's Quest
Little Daffydowndilly
Major Molineux
The May-Pole of Merry Mount
The Minister's Black Veil
Mrs Bullfrog
My Kinsman, Major Molineux
Peter Goldthwaite's Treasure
The Procession of Life
The Prophetic Pictures
Puritan Passions [short story]
The Scarlet Letter [short story]
The Seven Vagabonds
The Shaker Bridal
Sights from a Steeple
The Sister Years
Sunday at Home
Sylph Etherege
The Threefold Destiny
The Toll-Gatherer's Day
The Vision of the Fountain
The Wedding Knell
The White Old Maid [short story]
The Wives of the Dead
The Christmas Banquet (1813)
The Hollow of the Three Hills (1830)
Roger Malvin's Burial (1832)
Mr Higginbotham's Catastrophe (1834)
The Devil in Manuscript [short story] (1835)
The Gray Champion [short story] (1835)
The Man of Adamant (1835)
Wakefield (1835)
Young Goodman Brown [short story] (1835)
Dr Heidegger's Experiment [short story] (1837)
The Great Carbuncle (1837)
A Virtuoso's Collection [short story] (1842)
The Birthmark [short story] (1843)
The Celestial Railroad [short story] (1843)
Egotism; or the Bosom Serpent (1843)
Earth's Holocaust [short story] (1844)
     aka Earth's Last Holocaust
Rappaccini's Daughter [short story] (1844)
The Artist of the Beautiful [short story] (1846)
The Chimera (1851)
Edward Randolph's Portrait (1851)
The Golden Touch (1851)
The Gorgon's Head (1851)
Howe's Masquerade (1851)
Lady Eleanore's Mantle (1851)
The Miraculous Pitcher (1851)
Old Esther Dudley (1851)
The Paradise of Children (1851)
The Snow Image - A Childish Miracle (1851)
The Three Golden Apples (1851)
Ethan Brand [short story] (1852)
Feathertop: A Moralized Legend (1852)
Circe's Palace (1853)
The Dragon's Teeth (1853)
The Golden Fleece (1853)
The Minotaur (1853)
The Pomegranate Seeds (1853)
The Pygmies (1853)
The Wayside (1853)
From the 'American Notebooks' (1868)
The Ghost of Dr Harris (1900)

Books about Nathaniel Hawthorne