Carys Davies's picture

Carys Davies

UK flag

Carys Davies’s debut novel West (2018) was shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize, runner up for the Society of Authors' McKitterick Prize, and winner of the Wales Book of the Year for Fiction. Her second novel The Mission House was first published in the UK in 2020 where it was The Sunday Times 2020 Novel of the Year.

She is also the author of two collections of short stories, Some New Ambush and The Redemption of Galen Pike, which won the 2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and the 2015 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. She is the recipient of the Royal Society of Literature's V.S. Pritchett Prize, the Society of Authors' Olive Cook Short Story Award, a Northern Writers’ Award, a Cullman Fellowship at the New York Public Library, and is a member of the Folio Academy. Her fiction has been translated into nine languages.

Born in Wales, she grew up there and in the Midlands, lived and worked for twelve years in New York and Chicago, and now lives in Edinburgh.

Genres: Literary Fiction, Historical
New and upcoming books
March 2024

   West (2018)
   The Mission House (2020)
   Clear (2024)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Creed (2017)
Carys Davies recommends
The Borrowed Hills (2024)
Scott Preston
"Scott Preston lifts the veil from the picture-postcard beauty of Britain's Cumbrian fells to expose an atmosphere of festering despair in the lives of two farmers who lose everything when their sheep are destroyed by the government in order to contain an outbreak of Foot and Mouth disease. When they take desperate measures to rebuild their shattered world, what happens feels tragically inevitable. The Borrowed Hills is a story of anger and violence, devotion, love, and back-breaking hard work, told with dark, dead-pan humour and a rough kind of poetry."
Though the Bodies Fall (2023)
Noel O'Regan
"I was immediately drawn into O'Regan's delicately wrought debut by the tenderness he has for his characters, and by the quiet power that builds beneath the surface of his storytelling."
Lost Believers (2023)
Irina Zhorov
"Lost Believers reads like a journey into the heart of a dark Siberian fairytale--Irina Zhorov a guide I trusted and believed in completely, and admired for the compassion she has for her characters, and for the earth itself."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Carys Davies
Head Land (2016)
10 Years of the Edge Hill Short Story Prize
edited by
Rodge Glass
Love (2012)
Great Short Stories for Women by Women
edited by
Victoria Hislop

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors