Anatole France's picture

Anatole France

(Jaques Anatole Francois Thibault)
France (1844 - 1924)

Anatole France won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1921 - a noted man of letters, he was a leading figure of French literary life. In the 1920 his writings were put on the Index of Forbidden Books of the Roman Catholic Church.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Anatole France
thumbthumbno image available
Short stories
Our Lady's Juggler
Penguin Island (excerpt)
Lucifer (1895)

Nobel Prize in Literature Lifetime Achievement winner (1921)