New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Edith Nesbit's picture

Edith Nesbit

UK flag (1858 - 1924)

aka Mrs E Bland

Edith Nesbit's first great success was The Story of the Treasure-Seekers (1899). Her most celebrated book remains The Railway Children, published in 1906. Her great gift was the ability to create child characters who are real young human beings behaving naturally. Her unhappy marriage gave her much experience with children; as well as bringing up her own four by her philandering husband, she consented to bring Bland's illegimate offspring into her household.
Anthologies containing stories by Edith Nesbit
Short stories
The Conscience-Pudding
The Five Senses
The Head
The Three Drugs
The Violet Car
Man-Size in Marble (1886)
John Charrington's Wedding (1891)
The Ebony Frame (1893)
From the Dead (short story) (1893)
Hurst of Hurstcote (1893)
The Mass for the Dead (1893)
The Mystery of the Semi-Detached (1893)
Uncle Abraham's Romance (1893)
The Deliverers of Their Country [short story] (1899)
The Dragon Tamers (1899)
Atlantis (1905)
The Shadow (1905)
In the Dark [short story] (1910)
No. 17 (1910) (as by Mrs E Bland)

Books about Edith Nesbit