John Wyndham's picture

John Wyndham

(John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Beynon Harris)
UK flag (1903 - 1969)

aka John Beynon, John Beynon Harris, Johnson Harris, Lucas Parkes, Wyndham Parkes

John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Benyon Harris was the son of a barrister. After trying a number of careers, including farming, law, commercial art and advertising, he started writing short stories in 1925. After serving in the civil Service and the Army during the war, he went back to writing. Adopting the name John Wyndham, he started writing a form of science fiction that he called 'logical fantasy. As well as The Day of the Triffids, he wrote The Kraken Wakes, The Chrysalids, The Midwich Cuckoos (filmed as Village of the Damned) and The Seeds of Time.

Genres: Science Fiction
   The Curse of the Burdens (1927) (as by John Beynon Harris)
   Foul Play Suspected (1935) (as by John Beynon)
   The Secret People (1935) (as by John Beynon Harris)
   Stowaway to Mars (1935) (as by John Beynon)
     aka Planet Plane
   The Day of the Triffids (1951)
     aka Revolt of the Triffids
   The Kraken Wakes (1953)
     aka Out of the Deeps
   The Chrysalids (1955)
     aka Re-Birth
   The Midwich Cuckoos (1957)
   Trouble with Lichen (1960)
   The Outward Urge (1961) (as by Lucas Parkes)
   Chocky (1968)
   Web (1979)
   Plan for Chaos (2009)
   The Lost Machine (1932)
   Spheres of Hell (1933) (as by John Beynon Harris)
   Dumb Martian (1952)
   Survival (1952)
   The Wheel (1952)
   Affair of the Heart (1954)
no image availableno image availableno image availablethumb
no image availableno image available
Anthologies containing stories by John Wyndham
Short stories
Before the Triffids
Worlds to Barter (1931)
The Venus Adventure (1932)
Exiles on Asperus [short story] (1933)
Invisible Monster (1933)
The Puff-Ball Menace (1933)
The Third Vibrator (1933)
The Man from Beyond [short story] (1934)
The Man from Earth (1934)
The Moon Devils (1934) (as by John Beynon Harris)
The Cathedral Crypt (1935)
Perfect Creature (1937)
Una (1937)
     aka The Perfect Creature
The Last Lunarians (1938)
Sleepers of Mars [short story] (1938)
Child of Power (1939)
Derelict of Space (1939)
Judson's Annihilator (1939) (as by John Beynon)
The Trojan Beam (1939)
Vegeance By Proxy (1940)
Meteor (1941) (as by John Beynon Harris)
Phoney Meteor (1941) (as by John Beynon)
Wanderers of Time [short story] (1941)
Adaptation (1949)
Technical Slip (1949) (as by John Beynon Harris)
Time to Rest (1949) (as by John Beynon)
The Eternal Eve (1950)
And the Walls Came Tumbling Down... (1951)
Artist and Slave Girl (1951) (as by John Beynon)
No Place Like Earth [short story] (1951)
No Place Like Home (1951) (as by John Beynon)
Pawley's Peepholes (1951)
Pillar to Post (1951)
A Present from Brunswick (1951)
     aka Bargain from Brunswick
The Red Stuff (1951)
Close Behind Him (1952)
Chinese Puzzle (1953)
Chronoclasm (1953)
Confidence Trick (1953)
Female of the Species (1953)
How Do I Do? (1953)
More Spinned Against (1953)
Reservation Deferred (1953)
Time Out (1953)
     aka Time Stops Today
Compassion Circuit (1954)
Esmeralda (1954)
Heaven Scent (1954)
Jizzle [short story] (1954)
Look Natural, Please! (1954)
Opposite Number (1954)
Perforce to Dream (1954)
Re-Birth (1955)
Wild Flower (1955)
Consider Her Ways [short story] (1956)
For All the Night%The Space Station AD 1994 (1958)
Idiot's Delight%The Moon AD 2044 (1958)
Space Is a Province of Brazil%Venus AD 2144 (1958)
The Thin Gnat-Voices%Mars AD 2094 (1958)
The Troons of Space - Mars AD 2094 (1959)
The Troons of Space - Venus AD 2144 (1959)
The Emptiness of Space (1960)
     aka The Asteroids, 2194
A Long Spoon (1960)
The Asteroids, 2194 (1961)
Odd (1961)
Oh, Where, Now, is Peggy MacRafferty? (1961)
Random Quest (1961)
Stitch in Time (1961)
A Life Postponed (1968)

John Wyndham recommends
Galaxies Like Grains of Sand (1959)
Brian Aldiss
"Anyone who likes to see an intelligent imagination weave people and ideas together and finish the result with craftsmanship, should enjoy The Canopy of Time."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors