Janice Galloway's picture

Janice Galloway

Scotland (b.1955)

Janice Galloway was born in Ayrshire in 1955 where she worked as a teacher for ten years. Her first novel, The Trick is to keep Breathing, now widely considered to be a contemporary Scottish classic, was published in 1990. It was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel, Scottish First Book and Aer Lingus Awards, and won the MIND/Allan Lane Book of the Year. The stage adaptation has been performed at the Tron Theatre in Glasgow, the Du Maurier Theatre, Toronto and the Royal Court in London. Her second book, Blood, shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize, People's Prize and Satire Award, was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Her second novel, Foreign Parts, won the McVitie's Prize in 1994. That same year, and for all three books, she was recipient of the E M Forster Award, presented by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Her story-collection, Where you find it, was published in 1996, followed by a series of collaborative installation texts for sculptor Anne Bevan, published by the Fruitmarket Gallery as Pipelines in 2000. Her only play, Fall, was performed in Edinburgh and Paris in spring, 1998. She was the recipient of a Creative Scotland Award in 2001.
Anthologies edited
Scream, If You Want to Go Faster (1991) (with Hamish Whyte)
Pig Squealing (1992) (with Hamish Whyte)
Shouting It Out (1995)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Janice Galloway
Short stories
Blood [short story] (1991)

Saltire Literary Awards Best Book winner (2002) : Clara

Janice Galloway recommends
Bucket of Tongues (1992)
Duncan McLean
"This is lean, maggoty writing. More: it's subversively funny."
Touching Distance (2008)
Rebecca Abrams
"A mystery story, a love story, a historical drama - I can't imagine a reader who would not be moved this book."
Memory and Straw (2017)
Angus Peter Campbell
"An Irrepressible, quite remarkable, joy."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors