book cover of The Secret Stealers
Added by 17 of our members

The Secret Stealers

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A female American spy in Nazi-occupied France finds purpose behind enemy lines in a novel of unparalleled danger, love, and daring by the Amazon Charts bestselling author of The Beantown Girls.

Anna Cavanaugh is a restless young widow and brilliant French teacher at a private school in Washington, DC. Everything changes when she’s recruited into the Office of Strategic Services by family friend and legendary WWI hero Major General William Donovan.

Donovan has faith in her—and in all his “glorious amateurs” who are becoming Anna’s fast friends: Maggie, Anna’s down-to-earth mentor; Irene, who’s struggling to find support from her husband for her clandestine life; and Julia, a cheerful OSS liaison. But the more Anna learns about the organization’s secret missions, the more she longs to be stationed abroad. Then comes the opportunity: go undercover as a spy in the French Resistance to help steal critical intelligence that could ultimately turn the tide of the war.

Dispatched behind enemy lines and in constant danger, Anna is filled with adrenaline, passion, and fear. She’s driven to make a difference—for her country and for herself. Whatever the risk, she’s willing to take it to help liberate France from the shadows of occupation and to free herself from the shadows of her former life.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"The Secret Stealers brings to life the fascinating—and often overlooked—stories of female spies during World War II. Impeccably researched, Healey’s novel immerses you in a world of secrets and treachery, right up to the heart-pounding conclusion." - Elizabeth Blackwell

"The Secret Stealers is World War II historical fiction about women spies that offers the rare balance of nail-biting action with strong, fully-developed characters who embrace friendship, empowerment, and romance. Jane Healey’s crew of intrepid women are equally at home navigating the intrigue of the OSS in Washington, DC, and the dangers of war-torn France. This one’s not to be missed!" - Elise Hooper

"The Secret Stealers is a flawlessly crafted and engrossing story of the unexpected ways in which war changes who we are. Once again, Healey gifts readers with her trademark characters: everyday women who prove themselves to be extraordinary—women so relatable, so endearing, and so brave that they jump off the page and into our hearts." - Lynda Cohen Loigman

"The Secret Stealers is a captivating, richly detailed gem of a novel—the kind of book you don’t want to put down because it has everything you love in a reading experience: an expertly crafted, fast-paced plot, a vivid WWII setting, a cast of intriguing, admirable characters and a wonderful mix of adventure and emotion. A must-read for those who love not only the very best of WWII fiction, but an altogether terrific read." - Julianne MacLean

"Set against the fascinating and well-researched history of the OSS, Jane Healey has crafted a remarkable story of perseverance, friendship, and the adventurous spirit and bravery of women who were instrumental to the Allies’ efforts during WWII. This novel captured my heart while speeding up my pulse with its triumphs and tragedies; suspense and struggle; and ultimately, redemption, revelation, and reflection. Fans of Kate Quinn and Martha Hall Kelly will love this book." - Susie Orman Schnall


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jane Healey's The Secret Stealers

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
ISBN: 1-5420-2355-6 / 978-1-5420-2355-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
ISBN: 1-71355-411-9 / 978-1-71355-411-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
ISBN: 1-71355-412-7 / 978-1-71355-412-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Stealers: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Healey
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU