New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Dennis Lynds's picture

Dennis Lynds

USA flag (1924 - 2005)
Husband of Gayle Lynds

aka William Arden, Michael Collins, John Crowe, Carl Dekker, Sheila McErlean, Mark Sadler

DENNIS LYNDS (MICHAEL COLLINS) wrote the Dan Fortune series that began in 1967.

As Mark Sadler, John Crowe, William Arden and Carl Dekker, he published 18 crime novels and 13 juvenile crime novels. Under his real name he published three novels and two collections of stories. His mainstream stories were published in many of the literary journals, including New World Writing, Hudson Review, Cimarron Review, Western Humanities Review, Carolina Quarterly, and South Dakota Review, and appeared in Best American Short Stories. He was twice short-listed for the Drue Heinz Literature Prize for a collection of short stories.

He won the Mystery Writer's of America Edgar for one novel and was nominated for two more Edgars. He was awarded The Marlowe Lifetime Achievement Award for distinguished writing by MWA's SoCalChapter. He was nominated for three Private Eye Writers of America's Shamus Awards, and awarded PWA's Lifetime Achievement Award. His mystery and detective short stories have appeared in Best Crime & Mystery Stories of The Year many times.

Other honors include the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kriminalliteratur of West Germany's Special Commendation for his entire body of work to that time, 1981; President, Private Eye Writers Of America, 1985; Guest of Honor, 8th Festival du Roman et du Film Policiers, Reims, France, 1986; Guest of Honor, La Ville Est Un Roman, Consiel General, Seine Saint-Denis, Paris, France, 1991.
Mack Bolan (with Gayle Lynds (as by Mark Sadler) and Gayle Stone)
14. Moving Target (1989)
17. Blood Fever (1989)