New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Sinclair Lewis's picture

Sinclair Lewis

(Harry Sinclair Lewis)
USA (1885 - 1951)
Grandfather of J P Sinclair Lewis

Sinclair Lewis was an American novelist, short-story writer, and playwright. In 1930, he became the first American to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, "for his vigorous and graphic art of description and his ability to create, with wit and humour, new types of characters." His works are known for their insightful and critical views of American society and capitalist values, as well as their strong characterizations of modern working women.

Jayhawker (1935) (with Lloyd Lewis)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Sinclair Lewis
Short stories
Travel Is So Broadening (1928)

Nobel Prize in Literature Lifetime Achievement winner (1930)

Books about Sinclair Lewis
Sinclair Lewis recommends

The Cream of the Jest (1917)
(Saga of Poictesme)
James Branch Cabell
"A book of dreams it is, and of very wonderful dreams."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Elmore Leonard
Ira Levin
C S Lewis
Beverly Lewis
Paul Levine
Jonathan Lethem
Billie Letts
Margaret Leroy
Madeleine L'Engle
David Lindsey
Doris Lessing
Gail Carson Levine
John Lescroart
Laura Levine
Jeff Lindsay