Edith Pargeter's picture
152 books added

Edith Pargeter

(Edith Mary Pargeter)
UK flag (1913 - 1995)

aka Peter Benedict, Jolyon Carr, Ellis Peters, John Redfern

Edith Mary Pargeter, BEM (September 28, 1913 in Horsehay, Shropshire, England -October 14, 1995) was a prolific author of works in many categories, especially history and historical fiction, and was also honoured for her translations of Czech classics; she is probably best known for her murder mysteries, both historical and modern. Born in the village of Horsehay (Shropshire, England), she had Welsh ancestry, and many of her short stories and books (both fictional and non-fictional) were set in Wales and its borderlands, and/or have Welsh protagonists.

During World War II, she worked in an administrative role in the Women's Royal Naval Service, and received the British Empire Medal - BEM.

Pargeter wrote under a number of pseudonyms; it was under the name Ellis Peters that she wrote the highly popular series of Brother Cadfael medieval mysteries, many of which were made into films for television.

Genres: Historical
Heaven Tree
   1. The Heaven Tree (1960)
   2. The Green Branch (1962)
   3. The Scarlet Seed (1963)
   Hortensius, Friend of Nero (1936)
   Iron-Bound (1936)
   Day Star (1937) (as by Peter Benedict)
   Murder in the Dispensary (1938) (as by Jolyon Carr)
   The City Lies Foursquare (1939)
   Freedom For Two (1939) (as by Jolyon Carr)
   Death Comes by Post (1940) (as by Jolyon Carr)
   Masters of the Parachute Mail (1940) (as by Jolyon Carr)
   The Victim Needs a Nurse (1940) (as by John Redfern)
   Ordinary People (1941)
   She Goes to War (1942)
   The Eighth Champion of Christendom (1945)
   Reluctant Odyssey (1946)
   Warfare Accomplished (1947)
   By Firelight (1948)
   The Fair Young Phoenix (1948)
   Lost Children (1951)
   Most Loving Mere Folly (1953)
   The Soldier at the Door (1954)
   A Means of Grace (1956)
   The Will and the Deed (1960)
     aka Where There's a Will
   Funeral of Figaro (1962)
   A Bloody Field by Shrewsbury (1972)
   The Horn of Roland (1974)
   The Marriage of Meggotta (1979)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbno image availableno image availablethumb
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
   The Assize of the Dying (1958)
   The Lily Hand (1965)
Non fiction show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors