New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Rachel Seiffert's picture

Rachel Seiffert

UK flag (b.1971)

Rachel Seiffert is the author of The Dark Room, which won a Betty Trask Award and the Los Angeles Times's Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction and was short-listed for the Booker Prize. She has also received a David T. K. Wong award from PEN International for her work. After spending some years in Scotland and Germany, she now lives in London with her husband and son.
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2001) : The Dark Room
Betty Trask Award Best First Novel nominee (2002) : The Dark Room
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2007) : Afterwards
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2015) : The Walk Home

Rachel Seiffert recommends
The Seventh Cross (1942)
Anna Seghers
"A masterpiece. Written in the midst of terror, but with such clarity, such acuity; Seghers is a writer of rare insight."
Stronger Than Skin (2017)
Stephen May
"The story hooks you in lightly, and then takes a grip; a proper page-turner to the last."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors