Anita Shreve's picture
Followed by 9 of our members

Anita Shreve


USA flag (1946 - 2018)

Anita Shreve was the author of 19 novels, including The Pilot's Wife, Resistance and The Weight of Water, which were all made into movies. She grew up in Dedham, Massachusetts, the eldest of three daughters. Early literary influences include having read Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton when she was a junior in high school. After graduating from Tufts University, she taught high school for a number of years in and around Boston. She died on March 29, 2018, at her home in New Hampshire, following a battle with cancer.
Genres: Romance, General Fiction
 
Series
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Anita Shreve recommends
thumb
A Certain Slant of Light (2000)
Cynthia Thayer
"A wonderful novel, so pure and honest and true it rings like a clear bell."
thumb
Lick Creek (2001)
Brad Kessler
"Hums with electricity... a mesmerising love story."
thumb
Year of Wonders (2001)
Geraldine Brooks
"A wonder indeed... remarkable."
thumb
The End of an Error (2003)
Mameve Medwed
"Outrageously funny and deliciously wicked - Medwed outdoes herself."
thumb
In Summer (2004)
Jeremy Jackson
"My God, this is good."
thumb
Outside Valentine (2004)
Liza Ward
"Harrowing, heartfelt and unforgettable."
thumb
Daniel Isn't Talking (2006)
Marti Leimbach
"I adored 'Daniel isn't Talking.' I was riveted, engrossed-all those wonderful things one hopes for when opening a book."
thumb
Before (2007)
Joseph Hurka
"Joe Hurka has given us a beautifully written novel that, rather astonishingly, manages to weave together memory, loss, youth, hope, and evil into a compelling story that spans generations. There are echoes upon echoes in this haunting tale."
thumb
Beautiful Assassin (2008)
Michael White
"One of our finest novelists today."
thumb
The Swimming Pool (2010)
Holly LeCraw
"Holly Lecraw's The Swimming Pool is a complex, astonishingly well-crafted, and completely compelling debut."
thumb
Room (2010)
Emma Donoghue
"I loved Room. Such incredible imagination, and dazzling use of language. It's unlike anything I've read before."
thumb
Before I Go To Sleep (2011)
S J Watson
"Brilliant in its pacing, profound in its central question, suspenseful on every page - and satisfying in its thriller ending."
thumb
The Hanging Judge (2013)
Michael Ponsor
"That rare gem: a cracking court procedural with authentic characters and beautiful prose."
thumb
The Peacock Summer (2015)
Hannah Richell
"An engrossing and clever tale."
thumb
The Wife Between Us (2018)
Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing."
thumb
The Devoted (2018)
Blair Hurley
"Blair Hurley is a gorgeous writer. This novel brims with startling and organic metaphors that fuel, like Zen koans, the heart of a remarkable story. Unlike the Boston films of late, The Devoted gets the accents right."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors