Anita Shreve's picture
167 followers

Anita Shreve


USA flag (1946 - 2018)

Anita Shreve was the author of 19 novels, including The Pilot's Wife, Resistance and The Weight of Water, which were all made into movies. She grew up in Dedham, Massachusetts, the eldest of three daughters. Early literary influences include having read Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton when she was a junior in high school. After graduating from Tufts University, she taught high school for a number of years in and around Boston. She died on March 29, 2018, at her home in New Hampshire, following a battle with cancer.
 

Genres: Romance, General Fiction
 
Series
Fortune's Rocks Quartet
   1. Fortune's Rocks (1999)
   2. Sea Glass (2002)
   3. The Pilot's Wife (1998)
   4. Body Surfing (2007)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
Novels
   Eden Close (1989)
   Strange Fits of Passion (1991)
   Where or When (1993)
   Resistance (1995)
   The Weight of Water (1997)
   The Last Time They Met (1999)
   All He Ever Wanted (2003)
   Light on Snow (2004)
   A Wedding in December (2005)
   Testimony (2008)
   A Change in Altitude (2009)
   Rescue (2010)
   Stella Bain (2013)
     aka The Lives of Stella Bain
   The Stars are Fire (2017)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumb
 
Collections
thumb
 
Non fiction
   Working Woman (1986)
   Dr. Balter's Child Sense (1987)
   Remaking Motherhood (1987)
   Who's in Control (1988) (with Lawrence Balter)
   Women Together, Women Alone (1989)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Omnibus editions
thumbthumb
 
Anita Shreve recommends
thumb
The Wife Between Us (2018)
Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing."
thumb
Fill the Sky (2016)
Katherine A Sherbrooke
"Richly imagined and beautifully rendered, this is a deeply moving novel."
thumb
The Peacock Summer (2015)
Hannah Richell
"An engrossing and clever tale."

More recommendations 


Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors