New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Anita Shreve's picture

Anita Shreve


USA flag (1946 - )

Anita Shreve grew up in Dedham, Massachusetts (just outside Boston), the eldest of three daughters. Early literary influences include having read Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton when she was a junior in high school (a short novel she still claims as one of her favorites) and everything Eugene O'Neill ever wrote while she was a senior (to which she attributes a somewhat dark streak in her own work). After graduating from Tufts University, she taught high school for a number of years in and around Boston.
 
Series
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Anita Shreve recommends
thumb
A Certain Slant of Light (2000)
Cynthia Thayer
"A wonderful novel, so pure and honest and true it rings like a clear bell."
thumb
Year of Wonders (2001)
Geraldine Brooks
"A wonder indeed... remarkable."
thumb
Lick Creek (2001)
Brad Kessler
"Hums with electricity... a mesmerising love story."
thumb
The End of an Error (2003)
Mameve Medwed
"Outrageously funny and deliciously wicked - Medwed outdoes herself."
thumb
In Summer (2004)
Jeremy Jackson
"My God, this is good."
thumb
Outside Valentine (2004)
Liza Ward
"Harrowing, heartfelt and unforgettable."
thumb
Daniel Isn't Talking (2006)
Marti Leimbach
"I adored 'Daniel isn't Talking.' I was riveted, engrossed-all those wonderful things one hopes for when opening a book."
thumb
Before (2007)
Joseph Hurka
"Joe Hurka has given us a beautifully written novel that, rather astonishingly, manages to weave together memory, loss, youth, hope, and evil into a compelling story that spans generations. There are echoes upon echoes in this haunting tale."
thumb
Beautiful Assassin (2008)
Michael White
"One of our finest novelists today."
thumb
The Swimming Pool (2010)
Holly LeCraw
"Holly Lecraw's The Swimming Pool is a complex, astonishingly well-crafted, and completely compelling debut."
thumb
Room (2010)
Emma Donoghue
"I loved Room. Such incredible imagination, and dazzling use of language. It's unlike anything I've read before."
thumb
Before I Go To Sleep (2011)
S J Watson
"Brilliant in its pacing, profound in its central question, suspenseful on every page - and satisfying in its thriller ending."
thumb
The Hanging Judge (2013)
Michael Ponsor
"That rare gem: a cracking court procedural with authentic characters and beautiful prose."
thumb
Fill the Sky (2016)
Katherine Sherbrooke
"Richly imagined and beautifully rendered, this is a deeply moving novel."
thumb
The Wife Between Us (2018)
Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors