book cover of The Subway Girls
Added by 1 of our members

The Subway Girls

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
From Susie Orman Schnall, author of The Balance Project, comes a dual-timeline audiobook featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect.

In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend - the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose - does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she's secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia's urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job - and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo)

"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." (Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions)

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"This novel is feminist at heart and it's true to the time period, which at times means things don't always go the way the characters (or we!) wish they'd go. The story twists in unexpected ways which delighted me. Schnall never takes the easy way out. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book. A great story of Miss Subways, New York, and women making their ways in a cutthroat business." - Jennifer S Brown

"Schnall effortlessly weaves past and present in a tale of two women striving for their dreams in the cutthroat NYC advertising world. With a fascinating concept and characters you'll root for, The Subway Girls had me racing to its satisfying conclusion." - Kristin Contino

"The Subway Girls is a joyous romp through New York City, with a magnetic cast of characters you'll root for from page one. Dazzling and delicious." - Fiona Davis

"The Subway Girls is an enchanting story of two women separated by decades, and brought together by fate. Olivia and Charlotte are two of the most lovable literary heroines I've met in ages, I was rooting for both of them from the first page to the last. A charming, thoughtful story that illuminates how much has changed for women over the past few generations, and how much has not." - Andrea Dunlop

"Susie Orman Schnall seamlessly moves between the present and past, weaving together the stories of two different women facing the timeless decisions of love, career, and happiness." - Orly Konig

"A charming, inspiring tale, crossing two generations of ambitious young women, striving against the odds to make their mark, find happiness--and figure out, decades apart, if it's ever possible to do both." - Nicola Kraus

"This is a must read for fans of modern-day fiction and historical fiction alike. There is so much to love in this story - all the satisfying nostalgia of the post-war advertising world, and all the excitement of present-day New York." - Lynda Cohen Loigman

"This page-turner is finely balanced by a heartwarming journey that spans decades. I couldn't put it down." - Amy Sue Nathan

"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives." - Amy Poeppel

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." - Taylor Jenkins Reid


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Susie Orman Schnall's The Subway Girls

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
ISBN: 1-4328-5689-8 / 978-1-4328-5689-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
ISBN: 1-250-16976-3 / 978-1-250-16976-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Subway Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU