James Robertson's picture

James Robertson

UK flag (b.1958)

James Robertson is the author of the novel The Fanatic, as well as two collections of short stories, Close and The Ragged Man's Complaint, several collections of poetry, and a book of Scottish ghost stories. He lives in Fife.

Genres: General Fiction, Mystery
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
   Dictionary of Scottish Quotations (1996) (with Angela Cran)
   A Scots Parliament (2002)
   Who Built Scotland (2017) (with James Crawford, Kathleen Jamie, Alexander McCall Smith and Alistair Moffat)
Saltire Literary Awards Best Book winner (2003) : Joseph Knight
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2006) : The Testament of Gideon Mack
The Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year Best Book nominee (2007) : The Testament of Gideon Mack
Saltire Literary Awards Best Book winner (2010) : And the Land Lay Still
Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Writing Best Book nominee (2017) : To Be Continued...

James Robertson recommends
Bird Summons (2019)
Leila Aboulela
"BIRD SUMMONS is a heady blend of social realism, magic, Middle Eastern folktale and Celtic myth. Above all it is the story of three women on a journey not only to the Highlands but also into themselves, as they confront their hopes, fears and deepest secrets. Leila Aboulela's is a unique and refreshing voice in contemporary Scottish fiction."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors