Marguerite Yourcenar's picture

Marguerite Yourcenar

(Marguerite de Crayencour)
Belgium (1903 - 1987)

Marguerite Yourcenar (her pseudonym was an anagram of her family name, Crayencour) was born in Brussels in 1903 and died in Maine in 1987. One of the most respected writers in the French language, she is best known as the author of the best-selling Memoirs of Hadrian and The Abyss.

She was awarded many literary honors, most notably election to the Academie Francaise in 1980, the first woman to be so honored.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Marguerite Yourcenar
Short stories
How Wang-Fo was Saved (1963)