Emile Zola's picture

Émile Zola

France (1840 - 1902)

Émile Zola was an influential French novelist, the most important example of the literary school of naturalism, and a major figure in the political liberalization of France. More than half of his novels were part of a set of 20 collectively known as Les Rougon-Macquart. Set in France's Second Empire, the series traces the 'hereditary' influence of violence, alcoholism, and prostitution in two branches of a single family: the respectable (that is, legitimate) Rougons and the disreputable (illegitimate) Macquarts, for five generations. His works include Therese Raquin (1867), Germinal (1885), Abbé Mouret's Transgression (1886), The Three Cities, Part I (1894), The Three Cities, Part II (1896), The Three Cities, Part III (1898), Fruitfulness (1900), and A Love Episode (1905).

Genres: Literary Fiction
1. The Fortune of the Rougons (1871)
2. The Kill (1872)
     aka The Rush for the Spoil
3. The Belly of Paris (1873)
     aka The Fat And the Thin
4. The Conquest of Plassans (1874)
5. The Sinful Priest (1875)
     aka The Sin of Father Mouret / Abbe Mouret's Transgression
6. His Excellency Eugene Rougon (1876)
7. The Gin Palace (1877)
     aka The Drinking Den / The Dram Shop / L'Assommoir
8. A Love Episode (1878)
     aka A Page of Love / A Love Story
9. Nana (1880)
10. Restless House (1882)
     aka Lesson in Love
11. The Ladies' Paradise (1883)
     aka The Ladies' Delight
12. How Jolly Life Is (1884)
     aka Zest for Life / The Bright Side of Life
13. Germinal (1885)
14. The Masterpiece (1886)
15. The Soil (1887)
     aka Earth
16. The Dream (1888)
17. The Beast in Man (1890)
     aka The Beast Within
18. Money (1891)
19. The Downfall (1892)
     aka The Debacle
20. Doctor Pascal (1893)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Émile Zola
Short stories
The Death of Olivier Becaille
The Fairy Amoureuse
Angeline, or the Haunted House (1898)