Robert Adams's picture

Robert Adams

(Franklin Robert Adams)
USA flag (1932 - 1990)

Franklin Robert Adams (August 31, 1933 - January 4, 1990) was an American science fiction and fantasy writer, formerly a career soldier. He is best known for his "Horseclans" books. He wrote as Robert Adams, an abbreviated form of his full name.

Adams was an early pioneer of the post-holocaust novel. His Horseclans novels are precursors to many of today's attempts at this type of story, many of which do not exhibit his painstakingly detailed world view or extraordinary plot follow-through (many of his Horseclans books are so interlinked that they make sense only when read in order; he did not create many "stand alone" books in the series).

Hallmarks of Adams' style include a focus on violent, non-stop action, meticulous detail in matters historical and military, strong description, and digressions expounding on various subjects from a conservative and libertarian viewpoint.

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy
   1. The Coming of the Horseclans (1975)
   2. Swords of the Horseclans (1977)
   3. Revenge of the Horseclans (1977)
   4. A Cat of Silvery Hue (1979)
   5. The Savage Mountains (1980)
   6. The Patrimony (1980)
   7. Horseclans Odyssey (1981)
   8. The Death of a Legend (1981)
   9. The Witch Goddess (1982)
   10. Bili the Axe (1983)
   11. Champion of the Last Battle (1983)
   12. A Woman of the Horseclans (1983)
   13. Horses of the North (1985)
   14. A Man Called Milo Morai (1986)
   15. The Memories of Milo Morai (1986)
   16. Trumpets of War (1987)
   17. Madman's Army (1987)
   18. The Clan of the Cats (1988)
thumbthumbno image available
Anthologies edited
   Barbarians (1986) (with Martin H Greenberg and Charles G Waugh)
   Friends of the Horseclans (1987) (with Pamela Crippen Adams)
   Robert Adams' Book of Alternate Worlds (1987)
   Barbarians II (1988) (with Pamela Crippen Adams and Martin H Greenberg)
   Hunger for Horror (1988) (with Pamela C Adams and Martin H Greenberg)
   Robert Adams' Book of Soldiers (1988)
   Friends of the Horseclans II (1989) (with Pamela Crippen Adams)
   Alternatives (1989)
   Phantom Regiments (1990) (with Martin H Greenberg)
Anthology series
Magic in Ithkar (with Andre Norton)
   1. Magic in Ithkar (1985)
   2. Magic in Ithkar 2 (1985)
   3. Magic in Ithkar 3 (1986)
   4. Magic in Ithkar 4 (1987)
Robert Adams recommends
You Don't Belong Here (2016)
Tim Major
"A beautifully-written, cleverly unsettling puzzle-box of a novel."
The 1000 Year Reich (2016)
Ian Watson
"One of the genre's unassailable greats."
Europe at Midnight (2015)
(Europe, book 2)
Dave Hutchinson
"One of the best novels I've read in a long time."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Robert Adams
Hunger for Horror (1988)
edited by
Pamela C Adams, Robert Adams and Martin H Greenberg

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors