New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Madison Smartt Bell's picture

Madison Smartt Bell

USA flag (b.1957)

Madison Smartt Bell is a critically acclaimed writer of more than a dozen novels and story collections, as well as numerous essays and reviews for publications such as Harper's and the New York Times Book Review. His books have been finalists for both the National Book Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award, among other honors.
Haitian Revolutionary trilogy
1. All Souls' Rising (1995) (with Mark Mitchell)
2. Master of the Crossroads (2000)
3. The Stone That the Builder Refused (2004)
Madison Smartt Bell recommends
River Dogs (1987)
Robert Olmstead
"Olmstead has the skill for lending every present moment an extraordinary, sensuous glow."
Jack (1989)
A M Homes
"Honest, uncompromising and savagely funny."
Some Girls (1994)
Kristin McCloy
"Electric from the first page on... tingingly erotic... McCloy's sence of place is fantastically vivid."
Dogfight (1998)
Michael Knight
"Michael Knight's stories are tempered with both pathos and humor, and seasoned with many an unexpected twist. Dogfight and Other Stories has a bite more than equal to its bark."
The True History of Paradise (1999)
Margaret Cezair-Thompson
"Fascinating . . . Cezair-Thompson writes with such talent, grace, and confidence."
The Losers' Club (2003)
Richard Pérez
"Along with all its flamboyant appealingly old fashioned love story at its core."
The Madam (2003)
Julianna Baggott
"Profoundly different from anything she has done before, The Madam is an extraordinary novel which will open a whole new phase of what already looks like a brilliant career."
The Night Birds (2007)
Thomas Maltman
"We all set our sights on the Great American Novel. . . . [Thomas Maltman] comes impressively close to laying his hands on the grail."
Sweetsmoke (2008)
David Fuller
"With Sweetsmoke, David Fuller gives an extraordinarily nuanced, privileged, and convincing view of the world of slavery during the American Civil War, and of the hearts and minds of the men and women who had to live in that world."
A Detailed Man (2011)
David Swinson
"A relentless tour of DCs most crime-ridden streets, with many beautifully written surprises, and darker than the deepest noir."
Fly Me (2017)
Daniel Riley
"Daniel Riley's Fly Me conjures the feeling of a long-passed decade in living color, flesh and bone-redolent with risk and possibility. This riveting novel is a window into a world we've all forgotten we come from."
The Black Painting (2018)
Neil Olson
"Neil Olson's The Black Painting is an expertly confected, delicious mystery/thriller, and also a deeper study of the family romance, with echoes of Cheever's 'Goodbye, My Brother'."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors