New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Catherine Cookson's picture

Catherine Cookson

(Dame Catherine Ann Cookson)
UK flag (1906 - 1998)

aka Catherine Marchant

Catherine Cookson was born in Tyne Dock, the illegitimate daughter of a poverty-stricken woman, Kate, whom she believed to be her older sister. She began work in service but eventually moved south to Hastings, where she met and married Tom Cookson, a local grammar-school master. Although she was originally acclaimed as a regional writer - her novel The Round Tower won the Winifred Holtby Award for the best regional novel of 1968 - her readership quickly spread throughout the world, and her many best-selling novels established her as one of the most popular of contemporary women novelists. After receiving an OBE in 1985, Catherine Cookson was created a Dame of the British Empire in 1993. She was appointed an Honorary Fellow of St Hilda's College, Oxford, in 1997. For many years she lived near Newcastle upon Tyne. She died shortly before her ninety-second birthday, in June 1998.


Kate Hannigan (1950)
The Fifteen Streets (1952)
Colour Blind (1953)
Maggie Rowan (1954)
Rooney (1957)
The Menagerie (1958)
Fanny McBride (1959)
Slinky Jane (1959)
Fenwick Houses (1960)
The Garment (1962)
The Blind Miller (1963)
Hannah Massey (1964)
Matty Doolin (1965)
The Unbaited Trap (1966)
Katie Mulholland (1967)
Joe and the Gladiator (1968)
The Round Tower (1968)
The Glass Virgin (1969)
The Nice Bloke (1969)
The Invitation (1970)
The Nipper (1970)
The Dwelling Place (1971)
Feathers in the Fire (1971)
Pure as the Lily (1972)
Blue Baccy (1972)
Our John Willie (1974)
The Invisible Cord (1975)
The Gambling Man (1975)
The Tide of Life (1976)
Mrs. Flannagan's Trumpet (1976)
The Girl (1977)
Go Tell It to Mrs. Golightly (1977)
The Cinder Path (1978)
The Man Who Cried (1979)
Lanky Jones (1980)
The Whip (1982)
The Black Velvet Gown (1984)
A Dinner of Herbs (1985)
The Bannaman Legacy (1985)
The Moth (1986)
     aka The Thorman Inheritance
The Parson's Daughter (1987)
Rory's Fortune (1988)
The Harrogate Secret (1988)
The Cultured Handmaiden (1988)
The Spaniard's Gift (1989)
The Black Candle (1989)
The Wingless Bird (1990)
The Gillyvors (1990)
The Maltese Angel (1990)
My Beloved Son (1991)
Bill and the Mary Ann Shaughnessy (1991)
The Love Child (1991)
The Rag Nymph (1991)
The House of Women (1992)
The Year of the Virgins (1993)
The Golden Straw (1993)
Justice Is a Woman (1994)
The Tinker's Girl (1994)
A Ruthless Need (1995)
The Obsession (1995)
The Upstart (1996)
The Branded Man (1996)
The Bonny Dawn (1996)
The Desert Crop (1997)
The Lady on My Left (1997)
The Solace of Sin (1998)
Riley (1998)
The Blind Years (1998)
The Thursday Friend (1999)
A House Divided (1999)
Kate Hannigan's Girl (2000)
Rosie of the River (2000)
The Silent Lady (2001)
Saint Christopher and the Gravedigger (2017)
The Rag Maid (2017)



Picture Books
Non fiction
Books about Catherine Cookson
The Girl from Leam Lane (1997) by Piers Dudgeon
Catherine Cookson recommends
The Apple Tree Saga
The Apple Tree Saga (1977)
(Apple Tree Saga)
Mary E Pearce
"A storyteller after my own heart."
Kissing Shadows
Kissing Shadows (1999)
Sally Stewart
"In reading Sally Stewart's work, I've found someone after my own heart - a real storyteller."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for