New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Norah Lofts's picture

Norah Lofts

(Norah Robinson Lofts)
UK flag (1904 - 1983)

aka Juliet Astley, Peter Curtis

Norah Lofts, best-selling author on both sides of the Atlantic, was born in Norfolk. She taught English and History at a girls' school before turning to writing full time. She also wrote under the pen name of Peter Curtis. A passion for old houses and their history inspired her classic 'House' trilogy, The Town House, The House at Old Vine and The House at Sunset. This meticulously researched trilogy of historical romances spans more than five centuries of Suffolk history, starting with Martin Reed, a fourteenth century serf and concluding with Frances Benyon in the mid 1950s. Lofts wrote more than 50 books, including historical non-fiction and short stories.
Gad's Hall
Gad's Hall (1977)
The Haunting of Gad's Hall (1978)
     aka Haunted House
Here Was a Man (1936)
White Hell of Pity (1937)
Blossom Like the Rose (1939)
Hester Roon (1940)
Scent of Cloves (1940)
The Brittle Glass (1942)
Michael and All Angels (1943)
     aka The Golden Fleece
You're Best Alone (1943) (as by Peter Curtis)
Jassy (1944)
Lady Living Alone (1944) (as by Peter Curtis)
To See a Fine Lady (1946)
Silver Nutmeg (1947)
A Calf for Venus (1949)
     aka Letty
Esther (1950)
The Lute Player (1951)
Bless This House (1954)
Queen in Waiting (1955)
     aka Eleanor the Queen
The Road to Revelation (1955)
     aka Winter Harvest
Afternoon of an Autocrat (1956)
     aka Devil in Clevely / The Deadly Gift
Dead March in Three Keys (1959) (as by Peter Curtis)
     aka Bride of Moat House / No Question of Murder
The Devil's Own (1960) (as by Peter Curtis)
     aka The Witches / Little Wax Doll
The Concubine (1963)
Her Own Special Island (1965)
     aka Uneasy Paradise
How Far to Bethlehem (1965)
Heaven in Your Hand (1966)
The King's Pleasure (1969)
The Lost Queen (1969)
     aka The Lost Ones
Madselin (1969)
Out of This Nettle (1969)
The Little Wax Doll (1970)
Lovers All Untrue (1970)
The Maude Reed Tale (1971)
     aka Story of Maude Reed
A Rose for Virtue (1971)
Charlotte (1972)
     aka Out of the Dark
Requiem for Idols (1972)
Rupert Hatton's Story (1972)
     aka Rupert Hatton's Tales
Nethergate (1973)
Crown of Aloes (1974)
Checkmate (1975)
Walk into My Parlour (1975)
The Fall of Midas (1975) (as by Juliet Astley)
Copsi Castle (1978) (as by Juliet Astley)
The Day of the Butterfly (1979)
A Wayside Tavern (1980)
The Old Priory (1981)
The Claw (1981)
Pargeters (1984)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Norah Lofts
Short stories
I Met a Gypsy [short story] (1935)
Mr. Edward (1947)
Heaven In Your Hand [short story] (1958)
Saving Face [short story] (1983)

Search for