Mary E Pearce's picture

Mary E Pearce

(Mary Emily Pearce)
UK flag (1932 - 2007)

Mary E. Pearce was born in 1933 and spent her childhood in London. Her first job was as a library assistant for a Boots lending library.

Mary later moved to Worcestershire, and shortly afterwards had her first writing success, with publication of a short story. She wrote more short stories, before her first novel, Apple Tree Lean Down, was published. This was to be the first of a series of five novels connected by a large cast of characters.

Over a long and successful writing career, Mary wrote 9 novels. They were described as “sheer country magic” by the author James Herriot, and Catherine Cookson called Mary “a storyteller after my own heart”.


Genres: Sagas
Apple Tree Saga
   1. Apple Tree Lean Down (1973)
   2. Jack Mercybright (1974)
   3. The Sorrowing Wind (1975)
   4. The Land Endures (1978)
   5. Seedtime and Harvest (1980)
   Cast a Long Shadow (1977)
   Polsinney Harbour (1983)
   The Two Farms (1986)
   The Old House at Railes (1993)
Picture Books
no image available
Omnibus editions

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors