New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Helen Cresswell's picture

Helen Cresswell

UK (1934 - 2005)

Helen started writing at the tender age of six years old! At that time her primary interest was in poetry. Now she is an author of wonderful stories, such as The Bongleweed and The Piemakers.

Helen has also written many television scripts, including Five Children and It, The Demon Headmaster and Lizzie Dripping.

Wednesday September 28, 2005: Helen Cresswell has died of cancer at her home in Eakring, Nottinghamshire, at the age of 71.

More in The Guardian
Sonya-by-the-shore (1960)
The White Sea Horse (1964)
Pietro and the Mule (1965)
Where the Wind Blows (1966)
A day on Big O (1967)
The Piemakers (1967)
A Tide for the Captain (1967)
Barge Children (1968)
Rug is a Bear (1968)
Rug Plays Tricks (1968)
The Sea Piper (1968)
The Signposters (1968)
House for Jones (1969)
The Night Watchmen (1969)
Rug and a Picnic (1969)
Rug Plays Ball (1969)
The Outlanders (1970)
Rainbow Pavement (1970)
The Wilkses (1970)
Bird Fancier (1971)
Weather Cat (1971)
At the Stroke of Midnight (1971)
Up the Pier (1971)
Arc-en-ciel (1972)
Jane's Policeman (1972)
Blue Birds Over Pit Row (1972)
Roof Fall (1972)
The Beachcombers (1972)
Long Day (1972)
Short Back and Sides (1972)
The Bower Birds (1973)
The Beetle Hunt (1973)
The Bongleweed (1973)
The Key (1973)
The Trap (1973)
Cheap Day Return (1974)
Shady Deal (1974)
A Game of Catch (1975)
Butterfly Chase (1975)
The Winter of the Birds (1975)
Donkey Days (1977)
Awful Jack (1977)
The Flyaway Kite (1979)
My Aunt Polly (1979)
Nearly Goodbye (1980)
Penny for the Guy (1980)
My Aunt Polly by the Sea (1980)
Kingdom of Riches (1981)
Dear Shrink (1982)
Ellie and the Hagwitch (1984)
Greedy Alice (1986)
Whodunnit? (1986)
Time Out (1987)
Dragon Ride (1987)
Moondial (1987)
Trouble (1987)
The Story of Grace Darling (1988)
Rosie and the Boredom Eater (1989)
Hokey Pokey Did It! (1989)
Almost Goodbye, Guzzler (1990)
Meet Posy Bates (1990)
The Secret World of Polly Flint (1991)
The Return of the Psammead (1992)
The Watchers (1993)
Polly Thumb (1994)
Birdspell (1995)
Little Sea Horse (1995)
Stonestruck (1995)
Mister Maggs (1996)
Bag of Bones (1997)
The Little Sea Pony (1997)
Sophie and the Sea Wolf (1997)
The Phoenix and the Carpet (1997)
Garlunk (1998)
The Little Grey Donkey (1998)
Snatchers (1998)
Rumpelstiltskin (2004)

Picture Books

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Jasmine Cresswell
Sara Craven
Meg Cabot
Tom Cain
Mary Higgins Clark
Kathleen Creighton
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Susan Crosby
Caitlin Crews
L J Smith
Chelsea Cain
Jenny Colgan
Bernard Cornwell
Nicola Cornick
Tom Clancy

Search for