Mary Anna Evans's picture

Mary Anna Evans


Mary Anna Evans has degrees in physics and engineering, but her heart is in the past. Her series character, Faye Longchamp, lives the exciting life of an archaeologist, and Mary Anna envies her a little. Her first novel, Artifacts, won the Benjamin Franklin award and it was named by the Voice of Young America (VOYA) as an "Adult Mystery with Young Adult Appeal." Her second novel, Relics, was an Independent Mystery Booksellers Association (IMBA) bestseller. Her third novel, Effigies, was named a Book Sense Notable Book. For the incurably curious, Mary Anna's first published work, her master's thesis, was entitled A Modeling Study of the NH3-NO-O2 Reaction Under the Operating Conditions of a Fluidized Bed Combustor. Like her mysteries, it was a factual page-turner but, no, it's not available online. She turned from engineering to fiction after the birth of her third child, shifting her focus from managing hazardous wastes to preparing balanced meals. She has yet to acquire the knack of laundry management.

Genres: Mystery, Historical, Historical Mystery
Faye Longchamp Mysteries
   1. Artifacts (2003)
   2. Relics (2005)
   3. Effigies (2007)
   4. Findings (2008)
   5. Floodgates (2009)
   6. Strangers (2010)
   7. Plunder (2012)
   8. Rituals (2013)
   9. Isolation (2015)
   10. Burials (2017)
   11. Undercurrents (2018)
   12. Catacombs (2019)
   13. Wrecked (2020)
   Offerings-Three Stories (2010)
   Jewel Box (2012)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Mouse House (2010)
   A Singularly Unsuitable Word (2010)
   Starch (2010)
   Land of the Flowers (2011)
   Low-Budget Monster Flick (2011)
   Twin Set (2014)
Non fiction show
Mary Anna Evans recommends
The Radcliffe Ladies' Reading Club (2023)
Julia Bryan Thomas
"A loving, engaging tribute to female friendship and the intimate power of books."
Prize for the Fire (2022)
Rilla Askew
"Prize for the Fire is a triumph. Rilla Askew has captured the unquenchable spirit of a singular woman, Anne Askew, as she stands alone against the violent, tumultuous England of Henry VIII's final years. Readers of literary and historical fiction will find that this deeply researched novel and its passionate, elegiac prose will stay with them long after they close the book on Anne's story. Highly recommended."
Wayward Girls (2021)
Penny Koepsel and Claire Matturro
"Wayward Girls delivers suspense, emotional depth, social commentary, and a gripping story. Grab a copy, a box of tissues, and the phone number of your oldest friend, because you're going to want to talk about this one after you turn the last page. It's a terrific book."

Anthologies containing stories by Mary Anna Evans
The Faking of the President (2020)
Nineteen Stories of White House Noir
edited by
Peter Carlaftes

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors