Mark Morris's picture

Mark Morris

UK flag (b.1963)

aka J M Morris

Mark Morris became a full-time writer in 1988 on the Enterprise Allowance Scheme, and a year later saw the release of his first novel, Toady. He has since published a further sixteen novels, among which are Stitch, The Immaculate, The Secret of Anatomy, Fiddleback, The Deluge and four books in the popular Doctor Who range.

His short stories, novellas, articles and reviews have appeared in a wide variety of anthologies and magazines, and he is editor of the highly-acclaimed Cinema Macabre, a book of fifty horror movie essays by genre luminaries, for which he won the 2007 British Fantasy Award.

Genres: Horror, Science Fiction, Mystery, Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult Fiction

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
   Fatal Error (2003) (with Paul Janczewski)
Anthologies containing stories by Mark Morris
Short stories
Homeward Bound (1988)
New Man (1989)
Playing God (1990)
The Company (1991)
The Fertilizer Man (1991)
Birthday (1992)
The Other One (1992)
Progeny (1992)
Green (1994)
The Chisellers' Reunion (1995)
Down to Earth (1995)
Eternity Ltd (1995)
A Shadow of Tomorrow (1997)
In the Hothouse (1998)

British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : Mr Bad Face
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2006) : Nowhere Near an Angel

Mark Morris recommends
The Leaping (2010)
Tom Fletcher
"I haven't been so blown away by a horror debut since I first read Clive Barker's Books of Blood twenty-five years ago. The Leaping is everything that good fiction should be--it is compelling, relevant and original. . . . like a dark, corrupt fairytale, oozing with dread and ancient menace."
Hekla's Children (2017)
James Brogden
"Hekla's Children marks the emergence on to a vibrant horror scene of an exciting new talent. James Brogden offers us a compulsive and unpredictable page-turner in which the ancient and modern world clash with devastating effect."
The War in the Dark (2018)
(War in the Dark, book 1)
Nick Setchfield
"Like an irresistible blend of a John Le Carré spy thriller and Hammer's The Devil Rides Out, Nick Setchfield's debut novel is a vivid and compelling page-turner, which propels you from scene to scene with such verve and invention that you have no choice but to keep reading. It's the sort of book you pick up, thinking, 'I'll just have five minutes', and an hour later you're still feverishly turning the pages, because you have to find out what happens next."
Strange Ink (2018)
(Harry Hendrick, book 1)
Gary Kemble
"Strange Ink is a full-blooded thrill ride with heart and soul that tears along like a Harley Davidson at full throttle. Gary Kemble's exhilarating debut is proof positive that the horror genre is very much alive and kicking!"
The Loosening Skin (2018)
Aliya Whiteley
"Whitlely's fiction scintillates with ideas and skips back and forth across genre boundaries with an ease and audacity that is glorious to behold."
Eden (2020)
Tim Lebbon
"Eden is both the darkest of fairy tales & an uncompromising, often gruelling account of adaptation & survival... A relentless page-turner in which the planet bites back!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors