New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Nicholas Blake's picture

Nicholas Blake

(Cecil Day Lewis)
UK (1904 - 1972)

Nicholas Blake is the pseudonym for C. Day Lewis CBE, who was Poet Laureate from 1968 until his death in 1972, aged sixty-eight.

C. Day Lewis had an illustrious career both as an academic and as a literary figure, producing many collections of poetry, critical works, translations and novels under his own name.

C. Day Lewis married his second wife, the actress Jill Balcon, in 1951. He had four children, one of whom is the actor Daniel Day Lewis.


Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Anthony Berkeley
Michael Innes
John Bingham
Richard Blake
Kate Carlisle
Ngaio Marsh
Janie Bolitho
Nero Blanc
W J Burley
Peter Blauner
Michael Bond
Nicholas Rhea
Terri Blackstock
Maeve Binchy
Cara Black