R Austin Freeman's picture
Followed by 1 of our members

R Austin Freeman

(Richard Austin Freeman)
UK flag (1862 - 1943)

aka Clifford Ashdown

Richard Austin Freeman enjoyed a prolific career that saw him gain qualification as pharmacist and surgeon, pull off a diplomatic coup along the Gold Coast, work for Holloway Prison and become a formidable man of fiction. For the first twenty-five years of his writing career, Freeman was to dominate and remain unrivalled in the world of detective fiction, introducing the well-loved and highly memorable Dr Thorndyke. Through the creation of this character, Richard Austin Freeman continues to be read as an extremely popular addition to the world of the mystery novel.

Genres: Mystery
Anthologies containing stories by R Austin Freeman
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
no image availableno image availableno image available
Short stories
The Aluminium Dagger
The Case of Oscar Brodski
The Case of the White Footprints
The Man with the Nailed Shoes
The Blue Sequin (1909)
The Echo of a Mutiny (1912)

Books about R Austin Freeman