New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
John Dickson Carr's picture

John Dickson Carr

USA (1906 - 1977)

aka Carter Dickson

AKA Carter Dickson.
John Dickson Carr was born in Uniontown, Pennsylvania, in 1906. It Walks by Night, his first published detective novel, featuring the Frenchman Henri Bencolin, was published in 1930. Apart from Dr Fell, whose first appearance was in Hag's Nook in 1933, Carr's other series detectives (published under the nom de plume of Carter Dickson) were the barrister Sir Henry Merrivale, who debuted in The Plague Court Murders (1934).

Genres: Mystery
Henri Bencolin
1. It Walks By Night (1930)
2. Castle Skull (1931)
3. The Lost Gallows (1931)
4. The Waxworks Murder (1932)
     aka The Corpse in the Waxworks
5. The Four False Weapons (1937)



Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by John Dickson Carr
Short stories
Blind Man's Hand
The Wrong Problem
The Other Hangman (1935)
The Footprint In the Sky (1944)

Books about John Dickson Carr
John Dickson Carr (1995) by Douglas G Greene
John Dickson Carr recommends

Blowback (1977)
(Nameless Detective, book 4)
Bill Pronzini
"An immensely likeable addition to the roster of private investigators."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for