Arnold Bennett's picture
Followed by 1 of our members

Arnold Bennett

(Enoch Arnold Bennett)
UK flag (1867 - 1931)

Arnold Bennett was born on 27th May 1867 in Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent and moved to London in 1889. From 1903 to 1911 he lived mostly in Paris, producing many novels and plays as well as working as a freelance journalist. He died of typhoid fever in London on 27th March 1931. In his writing Bennett based many of the characters, events and places on those that actually existed or happened in the Potteries during the nineteenth century.

Genres: General Fiction, Mystery
Arnold Bennett recommends
These 13 (1931)
William Faulkner
"An american who writes like an angel."
The Patriot's Progress (1968)
Henry Williamson
"'Its power lies in the descriptions, which have not been surpassed in any other war book within my knowledge... It amounts to a tremendous, and overwhelming, an unanswerable indictment of the institution of war."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors