Jonathan Coe's picture
Followed by 8 of our members

Jonathan Coe

UK flag (b.1961)

Jonathan Coe FRSL is an English novelist and writer. His work has an underlying preoccupation with political issues, although this serious engagement is often expressed comically in the form of satire. For example, What a Carve Up! reworks the plot of an old 1960s spoof horror film of the same name.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Jonathan Coe recommends
Mr Mee (2000)
Andrew Crumey
"In short - it's fabulous."
Going Gently (2000)
David Nobbs
"An extraordinarily rich and satisfying novel... I laughed constantly."
Perfect Tense (2001)
Michael Bracewell
"Utterly unique... Michael Bracewell shows himself to be nothing less than the poet laureate of late capitalism."
The News Where You Are (2010)
Catherine O'Flynn
"An awesomely talented writer."
Under the Same Stars (2012)
Tim Lott
"A great novel, full of rueful wisdom, epic in scope and packed with wonder and surprise."
The Mule (2016)
David Quantick
"An offbeat and surprising comedy-thriller...delicious."
Iron Towns (2016)
Anthony Cartwright
"A writer with an unblinking sense of Britain as it is today."
The Fabrications (2017)
Baret Magarian
"Extremely original,ambitious, and accomplished...The Fabrications is a brilliant achievement."
The Continuity Girl (2018)
Patrick Kincaid
"A wistfully entertaining romantic comedy."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors