J S Fletcher's picture

J S Fletcher

(Joseph Smith Fletcher)
UK flag (1863 - 1935)

Joseph Smith Fletcher was a British journalist and writer. He wrote about 200 books on a wide variety of subjects, both fiction and non-fiction. He was one of the leading writers of detective fiction in the "Golden Age". An early book was the 1909 collection, The Adventures of Archer Dawe. His other works include: Andrewlina (1889), The Winding Way (1890), The Wonderful City (1894), In the Days of Drake (1897), At the Blue Bell Inn (1898), The Fear of the Night (1903) and Paradise Court (1908).

Genres: Mystery
   Andrewlina (1889)
   The Winding Way (1890)
   The Wonderful City (1894)
   In the Days of Drake (1897)
   Paradise Court (1908)
   Lynne Court Spinney (1916)
   The Rayner-Slade Amalgamation (1917)
   Droonin' Watter (1919)
     aka Dead Men's Money
   The Middle-Temple Murder (1919)
   The Talleyrand Maxim (1919)
   The Orange Yellow Diamond (1920)
   The Paradise Mystery (1920)
     aka The Wrychester Paradise
   Scarhaven Keep (1920)
   Black Money (1922)
     aka The Charing Cross Mystery
   The Middle of Things (1922)
   The Mazaroff Murder (1923)
   The Mortover Grange Mystery (1926)
thumbno image available
thumbno image available
Anthologies containing stories by J S Fletcher
no image availableno image availableno image availableno image available
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image available
Short stories
Behind the Barrier
Contingent on the Verdict
From Behind the Barrier
The Lighthouse on Shivering Sand
The Manor House Mystery
The Mystery at Merrill's Mill
The New Sun
Provisions of Partnership
The Secret of the Strong Room
Blind Gap Moor (1924)
The Judge Corroborates (1930)