New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Rubicon

Rubicon

(2013)
(The fourth book in the Sword of Rome series)
A Novella by

 
 
Ravenna, 50BC.

Caesar's forces stand upon the borders of Gaul and Italy. The prospect of a civil war grows ever likelier each day.

But for the veteran soldier Lucius Oppius, this may be one conflict too far.

With a new lover, he is tempted to end his long military career - and start a new life.

But can any man truly be free of his past and who he is?

In Rome, Cicero attempts to secure a peace. Against him, a powerful faction in the Senate is bent upon destroying Caesar, for personal and political reasons.

War hinges upon the will of Pompey, the only man capable of stopping Caesar.

Caesar stands upon the banks of the Rubicon, an enemy of the state. The die is cast. An empire will now be at war, spearheaded by the two great men of the age.

And Lucius Oppius will be caught in the middle, unable to escape his fate.

'Sword of Rome: Rubicon' is a gripping novella, encompassing war, politics and the tragedy and duty of a soldier.

The 'Sword of Rome' series brings together history and adventure in stories which will appeal to fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and Steven Saylor.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for 'Raffles: The Complete Innings'.

"Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime." - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Praise for 'A Hero of Our Time'.

'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.' - Nigel Jones, author of 'Countdown To Valkyrie'.

Praise for 'Warsaw'.

"Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book. The meticulous research and psychological insights light up one of the most ghastly episodes in the history of man's inhumanity to man."
Patrick Bishop, author of 'Fighter Boys' and 'A Good War'.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling Kindle books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Genre: Historical    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Invader
T J Andrews and Simon Scarrow
thumb
Stiger's Tiger
(Chronicles of An Imperial Legionary Officer, book 1)
Marc Alan Edelheit
thumb
The Eagle and the Wolves
(Eagles of the Empire, book 4)
Simon Scarrow
thumb
Betrayal
(Centurions, book 1)
Anthony Riches

Used availability for Richard Foreman's Rubicon

Audio Editions

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Rubicon: Sword of Rome, Book 4
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Rubicon: Sword of Rome, Book 4
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Rubicon: Sword of Rome, Book 4
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sword of Rome: Rubicon
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA