Tibor Fischer's picture
16 books added

Tibor Fischer

UK flag (b.1959)

Tibor Fischer was born in Stockport, England in 1959 to Hungarian parents, both professional basketball players who had left Hungary in 1956. He grew up in south London before going to Cambridge University to study Latin and French. His first novel, Under the Frog (1992), was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction. It tells the story of a Hungarian basketball player, Gyuri Fischer, dreaming of escape to the West while on a tour in 1950s Hungary.

His recent fiction includes The Thought Gang (1994), the adventures of a middle-aged philosopher turned bank robber; The Collector Collector (1997), the bizarre story of a pottery bowl; and Don't Read This Book If You're Stupid (2000), seven tales of alienated and marginalised characters.

Awards: Granta (1993)  see all
   Under the Frog (1992)
   The Thought Gang (1994)
   The Collector Collector (1997)
   Voyage to the End of the Room (2003)
   Good to Be God (2008)
   How to Rule the World (2018)
   I Like Being Killed (2000)
   Don't Read This Book If You're Stupid (2000)
     aka Like Being Killed
   Short Stories (2000)
   Crushed Mexican Spiders (2011)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
Anthologies edited
   Arc Short Stories (1998) (with Sarah Dunant)
no image available
Non fiction show
Tibor Fischer recommends
Essex Dogs (2022)
(Essex Dogs Trilogy, book 1)
Dan Jones
"War. Looting. Junkies. Pintle-tugging. The English abroad. Dan Jones takes you to the year of Our Lord 1346."
Broken Glass (2009)
Alain Mabanckou
"A comic romp."
Whatever (1998)
Michel Houellebecq
"L'Etranger for the Info generation."

Books containing stories by Tibor Fischer
Sightlines (2001)
edited by
P D James and Harriet Harvey Wood

1993 Granta Best of Young British Novelists

Award nominations
1993 Booker Prize (shortlist) : Under the Frog
1992 Betty Trask Prize (nominee) : Under the Frog

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors