Thomas Pynchon's picture

Thomas Pynchon

(Thomas Ruggles Pynchon, Jr.)
USA flag (b.1937)

Thomas Pynchon is the author of V., The Crying of Lot 49, Gravity's Rainbow, Slow Learner, a collection of short stories, Vineland, Mason and Dixon and, most recently, Against the Day. He received the National Book Award for Gravity's Rainbow in 1974.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Short stories
The Small Rain [short story] (1959)
Low-Lands [short story] (1960)
Under the Rose (1961)
The Secret Integration [short story] (1964)

National Book Award for Fiction Best Book winner (1974) : Gravity's Rainbow
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1974) : Gravity's Rainbow
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book nominee (2013) : Bleeding Edge

Books about Thomas Pynchon
Thomas Pynchon (1989) by Clifford Mead
Thomas Pynchon recommends
Nog (1969)
Rudolph Wurlitzer
"The Novel of Bullshit is dead."
Dance the Eagle to Sleep (1970)
Marge Piercy
"One of the first really honest books this country has ever produced."
The Sea Came in at Midnight (1999)
Steve Erickson
"Steve Erikson has that rare and luminous gift for reporting back from the nocturnal side of engagingly romantic attitude and the fierce imaginative energy of a born storyteller."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors