New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
R A Lafferty's picture

R A Lafferty

(Raphael Aloysius Lafferty)
USA (1914 - 2002)

Raphael Aloysius Lafferty was an American science fiction and fantasy writer known for his original use of language, metaphor, and narrative structure, as well as for his etymological wit. He also wrote a set of four autobiographical novels, In a Green Tree; a history book, The Fall of Rome; and a number of novels that could be more or less loosely called historical fiction.

Genres: Science Fiction
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by R A Lafferty
The Six Fingers of Time (1965)
The Best from Fantasy and Science Fiction 15th Series (1966)
Nebula Award Stories 2 (1966)
Dangerous Visions 3 (1967)
New Worlds of Fantasy (1967)
     aka Step Outside Your Mind
Orbit 2 (1967)
World's Best Science Fiction 1967 (1967)
     aka World's Best SF 3rd Series
World's Best Science Fiction 1968 (1968)
The Others (1969)
Best SF 7 (1970)
Universe 1 (1971)
This Side of Infinity (1972)
Nebula Award Stories 7 (1972)
Universe 2 (1972)
The Best Science Fiction of the Year 2 (1973)
Worlds Far and Near (1974)
The Golden Road (1974)
Universe 4 (1974)
The Best Science Fiction of the Year 3 (1974)
The Best from Galaxy, Volume III (1975)
Spaced Out (1975)
Best SF: 1974 (1975)
     aka The Year's Best Science Fiction 8
Antigrav (1975)
The Far Reaches of Fear (1976)
Frights (1976)
The Hugo Winners 1971-1975 (1977)
The Hugo Winners Volume 3, Part 2: 1973 (1977)
Universe 7 (1977)
Shadows (1978)
Universe 8 (1978)
Frights 1 (1979)
Beyond Reality (1979)
The Year's Finest Fantasy Volume 2 (1979)
The Best of New Dimensions (1979)
Universe 10 (1980)
Aliens! (1980)
New Terrors 2 (1980)
A Treasury of Modern Fantasy (1981)
Universe 12 (1982)
The Best Science Fiction of the Year 11 (1982)
The Science Fiction Weight-Loss Book (1983)
The Best from Universe (1984)
Election Day 2084 (1984)
The Year's Best Science Fiction Third Annual Collection (1986)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Fourth Annual Collection (1991)
Amazing Stories (1991)
Isaac Asimov's SF-Lite (1993)
Strange Dreams (1993)
The Norton Book of Science Fiction (1993)
Betcha Can't Read Just One (1993)
Invaders! (1993)
Future Primitive (1994)
Destination Unknown (1996)
Modern Classics of Fantasy (1997)
Timegates (1997)
The Best of Crank! (1998)
The Mammoth Book of Fantasy All-Time Greats (1998)
     aka The Fantasy Hall of Fame
The Mammoth Book of Comic Fantasy (1998)
Explorers (2000)
Aliens Among Us (2000)
Short stories
About a Secret Crocodile
Boomer Flats
Golden Trabant
How They Gave It Back
In the Garden
Mad Man
The Man Underneath
Maybe Jones and the City
Pig in a Pokey
Seven Story Dream
This Grand Carcass Yet
The Ultimate Creature
The Weirdest World
Adam Had Three Brothers (1960)
The Six Fingers of Time (1960)
Snuffles (1960)
Through Other Eyes (1960)
The Ugly Sea (1960)
All the People (1961)
Aloys (1961)
Rainbird (1961)
Dream (1962)
     aka Dreamworld
Seven-Day Terror (1962)
Sodom and Gomorrah, Texas (1962)
Name of the Snake (1964)
The Transcendent Tigers (1964)
What's the Name of That Town? (1964)
Guesting Time (1965)
Hog-Belly Honey (1965)
In Our Block (1965)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Slow Tuesday Night (1965)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Among the Hairy Earthmen (1966)
Narrow Valley (1966)
Nine Hundred Grandmothers [short story] (1966)
Primary Education of the Camiroi (1966)
Camels and Dromedaries, Clem (1967)
Ginny Wrapped in the Sun (1967)
The Hole on the Corner (1967)
Land of the Great Horses (1967)
The Man Who Never Was (1967)
Polity and Custom of the Camiroi (1967)
Thus We Frustrate Charlemagne (1967)
One at a Time (1968)
Cliffs That Laughed (1969)
Configuration of the North Shore (1969)
Been a Long, Long Time (1970)
Continued on Next Rock (1970)Hugo (nominee)
Nebula Awards (nominee)
Entire and Perfect Chrysolite (1970)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Frog on the Mountain (1970)
Interurban Queen (1970)
Old Foot Forgot (1970)
Ride a Tin Can (1970)
All But the Words (1971)
Groaning Hinges of the World (1971)
Incased in Ancient Rind (1971)
Nor Limestone Islands (1971)
Sky (1971)Hugo (nominee)
World Abounding (1971)
Dorg (1972)
Eurema's Dam (1972)Hugo
Once on Aranea (1972)
A Special Condition in Summit City (1972)
By the Seashore (1973)
Days of Grass, Days of Straw (1973)
In Outraged Stone (1973)
Parthen (1973)
The Ungodly Mice of Doctor Drakos (1973)
The Wooly World of Barnaby Sheen (1973)
The World as Will and Wallpaper (1973)
And Name My Name (1974)
And Read the Flesh Between the Lines (1974)
Rivers of Damascus (1974)
For All Poor Folks at Picketwire (1975)
Old Halloweens on the Guna Slopes (1975)
Fog in My Throat (1976)
Oh Tell Me It Will Freeze Tonight (1976)
Brain Fever Season (1977)
Selenium Ghosts of the Eighteen Seventies (1978)
Splinters (1978)
And All the Skies Are Full of Fish (1980)
The Funny Face Murders (1980)
You Can't Go Back (1981)
Thieving Bear Planet (1982)
And Some in Velvet Gowns (1983)
The Doggone Highly Scientific Door (1983)
Oh Whatta You Do When the Well Runs Dry? (1983)
The Effigy Histories (1984)
I'll See It Done and Then I'll Die (1984)
The Man Who Made Models [short story] (1984)
Of Laughter and the Love of Friends (1984)
Two for Four Ninety-Nine (1984)
Magazine Section (1985)
Something Rich and Strange (1986)
Rainy Day in Halicarnassus (1988)
The Story of Little Briar-Rose, A Scholarly Study (1988)
I Don't Care Who Keeps the Cows (1994)
Happening in Chosky Bottoms (1995)
The Emperor's Shoestrings (1997)

Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1966) : In Our Block
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1966) : Slow Tuesday Night
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1969) : Past Master
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1969) : Past Master
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1971) : Continued on Next Rock
Nebula Awards Best Novellette nominee (1971) : Continued on Next Rock
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1971) : Entire and Perfect Chrysolite
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1971) : Fourth Mansions
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1972) : Sky
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1972) : The Devil Is Dead
Hugo Best Short Story winner (1973) : Eurema's Dam
Philip K Dick Award Best Book nominee (1982) : Aurelia
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (1990)
Philip K Dick Award Best Book nominee (1992) : Iron Tears
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1992) : Lafferty In Orbit

Search for