New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Mary Rosenblum's picture

Mary Rosenblum

USA flag (1952 - )

aka Mary Freeman

Mary Rosenblum is a science fiction and mystery author. Mary Rosenblum grew up in Allison Park, "a dead little coal mining town outside Pittsburgh PA," and attended Reed College in Oregon, earning a biology degree. She attended the Clarion West workshop in 1988.

Her first story came out in 1990 and her first novel in 1993. In 1994 she won the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel for the novel The Drylands. Her career began, and has largely returned to, science fiction. However from 1999 to 2002 she wrote the "Gardening Mysteries" novel series under the name "Mary Freeman." Her gardening involved mystery novels as Mary Freeman are said to be significantly different from her science fiction and so her two followings do not necessarily overlap.

Mary Rosenblum is also an accomplished cheesemaker, teaching the craft at selected workshops.
Anthologies containing stories by Mary Rosenblum
Short stories
Synthesis (1992)
California Dreamer (1994)
Bloodstone (1995)
Casting at Pegasus (1995)
Elegy (1995)
The Gardener (1995)
Gas Fish (1996)Hugo (nominee)
The Eye of God (1998)
The Rainmaker (1998)

Hugo Best Novella nominee (1997) : Gas Fish

Search for