Mary E Wilkins Freeman's picture

Mary E Wilkins Freeman

(Mary Eleanor Wilkins Freeman)
USA flag (1852 - 1930)

MARY E. WILKINS FREEMAN was born in Randolph, Massachusetts, and died in Metuchen, New Jersey. Among her published regional short fiction and novels are A Humble Romance and Other Stories, A New England Nun and Other Stories, Jane Field, and The Portion of Labor. In 1926 she received the William Dean Howells Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters for distinction in fiction. That same year, she and Edith Wharton were among the first women to be elected to membership in the National Institute of Arts and Letters.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Mary E Wilkins Freeman
Short stories
A Far-Away Melody [short story] (1890)
Luella Miller (1902)
The Shadows on the Wall (1902)
The Wind in the Rose-Bush [short story] (1902)
The Lost Ghost (1903)
The Southwest Chamber (1903)
The Vacant Lot (1903)