Dave Smeds's picture

Dave Smeds

USA flag (b.1955)

aka Reed Manning

Dave Smeds is a Nebula Award finalist and author of novels such as The Sorcery Within (published by Scorpius in October 2001) and The Schemes of Dragons (upcoming from Scorpius in Winter 2001/02), and X-Men: Law of the Jungle. His short fiction has appeared in magazines, including Asimov's Science Fiction, Realms of Fantasy, and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, and anthologies, including In the Field of Fire, Full Spectrum IV, Peter S. Beagle's Immortal Unicorn, and the erotic fantasy anthology Sirens and Other Demon Lovers. His writing has been translated into more that a dozen languages. Dave holds a black belt in goju-ryu Karate, and when he's not writing he can often be found teaching martial arts. He is currently at work on a film project with Marvel Comics founder Stan Lee, due to begin filming this year.

Genres: Science Fiction
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Series contributed to
X-Men (as by Reed Manning)
   The Law of the Jungle (1998)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Dave Smeds
Short stories
Tournament (1985)
Hennesy's Test (1986)
Sinking Ship [short story] (1986)
Goats [short story] (1987)
Gullrider (1987)
Termites (1987)
Dragon Touched (1988)
Sorceress of the Gulls (1988)
Once a Wife (1990)
Trading Swords (1991)
The Flower That Does Not Wither (1992)
Foreigners (1992)
Reef Apes (1992)
Seeing Ghosts (1992)
Soul Searching (1993)
Suicidal Tendencies (1993)
The Easy Way Down from Avernus (1994)
A Marathon Runner in the Human Race (1994)
Rusted Blade (1994)
Short Timer (1994)Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Eighth of December (1995)
Evaporation (1995)
Fearless (1995)
Foam (1995)
The Heart of the Forest (1995)
Incident on a Skyscraper (1995)
Knives (1995)
Survivor (1995)
Dust and Sand (1996)
Out of Place (1996)
The Trigger (1997)
The High Altar (1998)
A Wife of Acorn, Leaf, and Rain (1998)
Conceiving Kings (1999)
Mom's Room (1999)
A Raven on My Shoulder (1999)
Three Strands of Her Hair (1999)
Memories Traced in Snow (2000)
The Land of Graves (2001)

Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1996) : Short Timer