John Sanford

(Julian Lawrence Shapiro)
USA flag (1904 - 2003)

aka Julian L Shapiro

John Sanford was a screenwriter and author who wrote 24 books. A one-time member of the Communist Party, he and his wife, the ground-breaking screenwriter Marguerite Roberts, refused to testify to the House Un-American Activities Committee, and were blacklisted in Hollywood for nearly a decade.
Warrensburg Trilogy
   1. The Old Man's Place (1935)
     aka The Hard Guys
   2. Make My Bed In Hell (1939)
   3. The People from Heaven (1943)
   A Man Without Shoes (1951)
   The View from St Morris (1994)
   The Water Wheel (2020) (as by Julian L Shapiro)
thumbno image availablethumb
Non fiction
Sorry, we're not listing non fiction by this author